panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-09-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 3
2010-09-16
#1

Panoweaver 7 has problems on Mac

Panoweaver 7 gives a message 'fails to stitch' when stitching photographs in print mode on my new Mac computer but succeeds on a Windows. Easypanos answer to the problem is
I have tested your images.the problem is that your images are too large to stitch in print mode(8000*4000) so we suggest you either choose other mode or decrease the size of your images.
I say this is not good enough. They should warn us of limitations before hand before we purchase. Is the problem going to be fixed free of charge or will we need to pay for an upgrade again for a fixed version down the road?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 285
2010-09-16
#2

Hi Daffodil,

what is the size of your input picture ?

In my case, the results are 8000x4000 with no problem (when stitching is ... ok)

I read more "generic" articles about stitching.

Understand that some rules are to be respected for a good stitching, depending on your equipment !

The ndir should not be too much present. 
With my Nikor 10.5, I shoot at -15 (having my tripod a little bit visible,but not too much).

If more (-30), the predominance of the tripod will exceed the "normal" and the algorithm will chose its control popint in that area)
This will induce many errors, and an horrible result.

Algorithm should be able to force the matching point outside of this area, but it is not the case.

Fyi I work with picture size of 3872x2592 as input.

Reagrds,
Dominique


Nikon D300s - Nikor 10.5 - (PW7 Pro + TW6 Pro) - W7 Ultim - DELL Prceision M6400 (Quad Core - 8GB - 2x160GB-SSD)
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-09-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 3
2010-09-17
#3

Hi Dominique,

My input pictures are 2 MB in size approx.

Stitches perfectly on a windows print mode with this size of 2MB

Stitches perfectly on Mac -Broadband Mode but 'fails to stitch' on Print mode.

At the moment I am using stitching 4 images from Sigma 8mm fisheye lens.

I will experiment with trying to reduce size of tripod on images and will keep you posted if that helps

Daffodil


Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 285
2010-09-17
#4

Hi Daffoli,

I personnaly take 6 pictures (every 60 degrees and -15 degrees down), 3 ceils (+ 60 degrees).

Stitch is (when PW accepts) perfect, I can just see the three pods and part of my tripod.

I still have to try to take nadei appart and stitch ...

Taking 6 pictures gives to PW more possibilities to find common control points.

Be careful, some pictures without any details (like perfect uniformely paint walls, ...) are impossible to stitch (I know this because I ... did it [:errr:])

Btw, this does not explain why it works on Windows and not on Mac !

What about the latest version installed ?? [;)]

Regards,
Dominique


Nikon D300s - Nikor 10.5 - (PW7 Pro + TW6 Pro) - W7 Ultim - DELL Prceision M6400 (Quad Core - 8GB - 2x160GB-SSD)
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-09-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 3
2010-09-18
#5
Update. I have suceeded to stitch in print mode now on different images with minimum tripod content! By shortening and straightning the tripod legs I see less of the tripod on the images (legs not showing). If this is the remedy to my original problem well it worked,
Thanks
Dominique
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 285
2010-09-18
#6

Nice and thanks to get these good news from you Daffodil [;)]

Regards, Dominique


Nikon D300s - Nikor 10.5 - (PW7 Pro + TW6 Pro) - W7 Ultim - DELL Prceision M6400 (Quad Core - 8GB - 2x160GB-SSD)