panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-05-17
#12

Yes, as you can see a total waste of pixels. All that black area could/should be image. This is why you are much better off using a full frame fisheye lens like the 15mm or the Nikkor 10.5 mm with the hood (chopped) removed used with an adaptor. (Remembering you have no external or electronic way of adjusting the aperture) You must manipulate the aperture off the camera manually with a plastic stick or similar.

I would like to see a full usable set of images from the 5D and Canon or Sigma 15mm to be stitched with Panoweaver 4.0 in full frame mode.

Regards, Smooth  


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-09-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 156
2006-05-17
#13
http://www.chem.ox.ac.uk/oxfordtour/canon5dworkflow/

has sample images at the bottom with a 5d and canon 15mm fisheye.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-05-17
#14

Sweet! Ta,

Will have a play.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-15
Send Msg:
Posts: 372
2006-05-18
#15

Dave,

Did you buy the 5D or just make a test shot?

General Lee


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2006-05-18
#16

Yes, we bought it.  Price at our local Arlington Camera Shop was for Body only $2,999 minus a Canon $300 rebate = $2,699.  The 5d was released August 2005 and I think has had 2 firmware updates to version 1.0.5.  This current firmware update came already loaded on my 5d.

The 5d operates much like the 20d - all the knobs and menu items in similar locations - easy learning curve. I can reuse the 20d battery and wire shutter release.  However, it will not use the EF-S lens because the EF-S lens base has a small gray circle piece that obstructs the 5d's mirror, besides the 5d has a small knotch extension that prevents trying to mount a EF-S lens to the 5d body.  Also, the Canon Rep said that the smaller EF-S lens would create a silhouette on the 5d's CMOS sensor. 

Thats ok, we only have 2 EF-S lenses and will keep them on the now backup 20d.  All the other lenses we have are EF type and transfer over to the 5d.

If you have any questions about the 5d, please ask.  Over the next 3 or 4 days we will be giving the 5d a work over.

First impressions? 12mp 5d definately has larger files.  Even the RAW +jpg's are larger than the ones on the 20d.  The RAW's are around 11.67mb with the jpg's about 4mb. I can see purchasing some larger CF's.  Taking 3 images on the 5d offsets taking 4 images on the 20d.

Photoshop CS2 with ACR version 3.4 will convert the 5d's RAW.

Took a number of 3 image pano's yesterday.  The shutter release click sound is very quiet.  Body is not noticably heavier.  Larger LCD.   Writing to the CF takes noticably longer - write light stays on longer - but is finished by the time I rotate to the next click stop.  These images are certainly sharper  than on the 20d.  More detail, great color.

More info to come.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-03-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 16
2006-05-19
#17
http://geoimages.berkeley.edu/wwp306/html/FrankvanDam.html
click Full Size, with sound :-))
5D/15FE Sigma
6+1 (+1 handheld)
2.5Mb
20D+sigma 8, max =3700x7400pixels
5D+sigma 15, max =5600x11200pixels
and yes it's mutch sharper
grtz
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-15
Send Msg:
Posts: 372
2006-05-19
#18

Awsome Dave!

I am jealous.

I look forward to hearing your reports. I am saving for one myself.

Bigwade, is that your wwp submission? Lots of sharpness for sure and a lot of angular resolution. The details at heavy zoom are very good.

Do you get your feet in the shot with the hand held shot? I have a nikkor D70s+Nikkor 10.5 and I get my feet and some leg in the hand held down shot.

General Lee


Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-05-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 212
2006-05-21
#19

Hi Dave

I was actually looking at this camera yesterday (can't justify the cost of a 1DS MK2 as much as I'd like it).  Let us know what your final verdict is.  Also - what is the panohead you're using?  Do you know if Agnos does on for the 5D?

Anthony


Condottiero - Freelance Multimedia Design
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-05-22
#20

The www.agnos.com Agnos MrotatorTCPS will do ALL Canon and Nikon DSLR's no problem. With or without battery packs added.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-05-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 212
2006-05-22
#21
Thanks Smooth - I had hoped they did an MrotatorB version as I recall my original problems finding the nodal point on my setup.  Probably no other option but to grasp the nettle I suppose.
Condottiero - Freelance Multimedia Design