panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-06-09
#32

One is short the other is not!

The long is better suited to those not planning on using a fisheye lens.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2006-06-09
#33

Yes there is a 4.5cm height measurement difference between the TCPShort and the TCP. 

Both measurements are from the base of the rotator to the top of the bracket.

The TCP vertical bracket is 33.5cm tall

The TCPshort vertical bracket is 29.0cm tall

Visit: http://www.agnos.com/catalogo.htm?v_lingua=ENG&v_iss_web=W962570500000006646703367759&v_categ_lista=PR001-00007&v_cod_art_sche=MROTATORT

 


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-08-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 51
2006-06-09
#34
Talking about brackets..... I know, Smooth.. I know... it is my fault I own a Kaidan, it is very solid though, the quick release is nice, and I already own it. My current configuration is with the the "standard camera bracket and a cross plate. It is working well, but I want to use that 5th top shot.

To take a shot from the tripod I would need to upgrade my hardware to the "Spherical Bracket"


The upgrade will run me $250.

Is the little star on top that distracting? The in and out of an image editor, to clone the top, is too much workflow for what I charge. On interior shots the results are not up to snuff without major time investments.

Are the little mirror balls, or a small promo tile top and bottom a solution? I think I saw somewhere where you could download 3 or 4 different sizes of mirror balls.

I think for that money I could by a nodal ninja? Does the NN have the type of tensil strength for a 300d with an 8mm?

I have tried the handhold without success.

BTW I had picked up a tip on this board that raising the ISO in low light could help capturing a difficult enviroment. Technically this may be true, but my 300D combined with the fisheye 8 Sig produces an image with too much noise. Is there a inverse relationship between aperture and ISO. I would recommend not playing with the ISO on a 300d, either mine is getting old or it is a weakness of the hardware.

This is a tour at 100 ISO

and another at
400 ISO

Could you critique these two tours above on vignetting? It is dramatic on all my fisheyes. These were all shot in RAW and white balanced with Capture one (another tip from this group) and stitched with epano.

Smooth your output is the bomb

360 I envy your hardware and trips to the Carribean, even if you are a nice guy



John R Sembrot
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-06-10
#35

Hi John,

Mate, $250 for the Kaidan upgrade is ridiculous. Contact NinjaBill and buy a NN3 it will handle the 350D and Sigma no problem. If you want more strength then the Agnos MrotatorTCPS is a better bet. Bill offers a money back guarantee so you have nothing to lose. Wack the Kaidan head on ebay and get back as much as you can.

Mirror ball in my opinion are a poor gimmick for those who cannot patch or stitch correctly. 9 times out of 10 they look very out of place and ridiculous introduction to the scene. You either should patch the area or add a tripod cap with something of merit like yours or the client information. (it is MY opinion)

Sky caps are horrid and should be avoided at all costs. Cleaning up the "star" in Photoshop is pretty easy and is something that should be learnt (or "learned" as you yanks would say).

Noise or grain can be reduced quite well using ISOx Pro Photoshop Plug-In from Digital Darkroom

Most if not all Vignetting can be dealt with using Photoshop CS2 RAW converter.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-08-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 51
2006-06-10
#36
[Cleaning up the "star" in Photoshop is pretty easy and is something that should be learnt (or "learned" as you yanks would say).]

I have tried and the interior shots are harder than the exterior, especially when a ceiling lamp is involved. Also regrettably I do not own a copy of photoshop. I had been sharing a license with a dude but their new activation software has disabled my copy. I think they actually look at the registered name on the computer and the organization registered in the software. I am sure that the GIMP can do the same cloning techniques, not the RAW Conversion though. I am a capture one owner and found the RAW conversion slower on CS2, correcting vignetting in RAW I did not see and is unavailable with Capture One. I tried the vignetting correction in Ptlens but the picture quality and resolution was greatly reduced and exif data lost. Reason 200 to own photoshop. Do they ever have a sale?



But you see, if I fix the "star" then I do not need new hardware. I am getting US$175 for a tour and I need 2 hours to capture (Drive, shoot, and download) and 1.5 hrs to process. Photoshop on 4 or 5 tours would add 20 to 30 min and increase my "cost" by 10%. (3.5 hrs x 60 min 210 minutes)

Would you fix the star or change hardware set ups?


John R Sembrot
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-06-10
#37

I would buy Photoshop CS2 just to have access to the "Healing Tool" and RAW converter.

Upgrading your hardware so you can shoot an UP shot would also be a great help, once you get your process down right.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2006-06-10
#38

I would just fix the star in what ever photoeditor you use...  all it is a dark area all across the top of the image, probably top 15 pixels or so.  Clone it out removes the star.

Like this:

http://www.360texas.com/tips/star.htm

Another way is to use photoshop FILTER | OTHER | OFFSET.  Make sure the auto wrap is box is checked.  Then rotate the image VERTICAL down using a -15  for down 15 pixels.  This offsets the image upward so it wraps around to the bottom where your tripod cap is located.  It does not remove the star.. it justs moves the image so that the star is now wrapped into  the bottom area. 

I assume you are going to fix the tripod cap anyway with some advertising logo.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-08-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 51
2006-06-10
#39
Cool, Thanks I will try to clean things up top and bottom. Thanks for your help.
John R Sembrot
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2006-05-22
#40

Hi Steiner,  yes we bought the 5d primarily because it is a full 35mm sized sensor.

Dave


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-05-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 212
2006-05-22
#41

Yes, it's a great feature.

I'm seeing mention of 15mm fisheye lenses.  Is there a number to choose from and if so is there a major difference in cost between them? 


Condottiero - Freelance Multimedia Design