panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Send Msg:
2006-06-28
Quote: When I insert the lens (with pvc collar on) into the panohead I'm unable to tighten the securing screw down enough so that it holds the lens snug.[/QUOTE]
Hiya all, I'm new to panorama photography (as well as to this board) and I have a Nikon CoolPix 5700 with the FC-E9 fisheye lens and I bought an MrotatorB from eBay and I'm having the exact same problem as outlined above.
I do not have the collar though.

When tightning the allen bolt the gap does not seem to close.
I tightened it so much that I thought I bent the allen-key (I didn't, but I thought I had).

I have removed the allen-bolt and replaced it, but no joy, the lens just spins in the holder.
I'm assuming that as I bought this item from eBay I'll not be able to send it back to Agno's.
Is there anything I can do? (8+(

Mark
Alternate Text
Send Msg:
2006-07-07
Well, the collar came for the lens yesterday*, actually, two came.
They are fairly thin bits of plastic, and on close inspection one of them seems to be a tiny bit thinner than the other. Anyway, I placed them both around the lens and that wouldn't even fit through the pano head, so I removed what I thought was the thinner of the two, which then allowed the lens to slip into the pano head without a problem.
I tightened the allen-bolt (this still has to be tightened quite a lot, to a point where the bolt seems almost being forced) and hey-presto, one firmly held FC-E9 fisheye lens in an MrotatorB pano head.

I'm very happy that this problem has been sorted out so comprehensively with the help of this forum and the kindness of Agno's.
Now maybe I can get on with the task of taking images and finally deciding on what software is best for me to use for stitching.

Mark

* I would have posted about this on the day of delivery, but it was my wedding anniversary, so you'll have to excuse my tardiness. (8+)
Alternate Text
Send Msg:
2006-07-07