panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-05-28
#1

3 types of MrotatorH - what is the best?

Hi everybody

I am about to order new equipment from Agnos to use with my new canon 5D ang sigma 8mm lense. I want to buy one of their MrotatorH to make elevated panoramas. Now I learn that they have 3 different MrotatorH poles:

MrotatorHD
 
MrotatorHS
 
MrotatorHC
 
Do any of you know what rotator is the best?
Best regards
Morten

Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-05-30
#2

Hi Dave

Thanks for your comment.

Honestly I find it very difficult to know exactly what I should order from Agnos. I know they produce great rotators and everything else we need to produce high quality panoramas. I asked Agnos what they would recommend, and I got 4 suggestions and 9 links to follow. That is not very straight forward :o(

In order to make panoramas (not elevated) I think I will need:

KIT 4 - MrotatorTCPshort version
RingT8S...................180
Foot plate trip............ 15
MrotatorTCPshort.......255

Total........................450

And if I understand it correctly I will need this equipment in order to make elevated panoramas:

1 Kit MrotatorHDelta + RingT8S ( for Sigma 8mm) (photo and pano portrait and landscape)
 
      MrotatorHD....................................275
      RingT8S.........................................180
      Foot plate trip..................................15
     Three38.............................................30
                                                       ------------
                             total                          500
 
This is what I believe I will have to order, but I will try to get it confirmed before I order, so I get it right the first time!
 
If you have any comments to the list, I will gladly hear about it.
Best regards
Morten Andersen 

 


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-05-30
#3

High resolution images you will get for sure with the 5d and Sigma 8. 

Maybe we should back up ... and ask this question  So WHERE and WHAT are you going to photograph>?>  INside, outside, residential, museums, national parks ?

Are you going to take 3 or 4 horizon + 1 zenith UP shot?   This will help us decide which Agnos equipment direction to go.

Suggestion, possibly best combination for common situations. This will let you take 3 or 4 on the horizon and 1 up zenith.

http://www.agnos.com/catalogo.htm?v_lingua=ENG&v_iss_web=W962570500000754993568078622&v_categ_lista=PR001-RINGT&v_cod_art_sche=RINGT8S

Kit 4 Mrotator TCP short with the RingT

KIT 4 - MrotatorTCPshort version
RingT8S...................180
Foot plate trip............ 15
MrotatorTCPshort.......255

Total........................450

And then for Elevated images -  use RingT and a "Three38"  directly to the top of the HD pole.  Take 4 + no top

http://www.agnos.com/catalogo.htm?v_lingua=ENG&v_iss_web=W962570500000754993568078622&v_cod_art_sche=MROTATORHD

Ask Agnos for cost for Three38 plug  3/8" dia.  It is the small adapter between pole top and bottom of RingT.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-05-31
#4

Hi Dave

Thanks for your willingness to help me. That is very reasuring as I am about to invest a lot of money in new equipment (For me it is a lot of money)

I will use the Kit 4: 

KIT 4 - MrotatorTCPshort version

RingT8S...................180
Foot plate trip............ 15
MrotatorTCPshort.......255

Total........................450

To produce regular panoramas - just like I do with my nikon 8700 and fc e9 lense. I will keep taking 3-shoot panoramas (with bracketing of course).

I am currently producing all kind of panoramas. Indoor, outdoor, museums, houses, cars, specialy shops, attractions, restaurants and so on.

I will then order this equipment to produce elevated panoramas:

1 Kit MrotatorHDelta + RingT8S ( for Sigma 8mm):

 

      MrotatorHD....................................275

      RingT8S.........................................180

      Foot plate trip..................................15

     Three38.............................................30

                                                       ------------

                             total                          500 

This is what I think I need, after my correspondence with Agnos. I know I am ordering 2 RingT8S but that is what they reccommend so I will not have to mount and dismount the RingT every time I have to produce elevated panoramas.

I expect to be able to produce elevated panoramas from 3 shots with this set up. I will most likely start producing both indoor and out door elevated panoramas with the pole.

Do you agree that what I just listed will be right for me?? Any advice would be appreciated before I actually put in the order - so I am sure I get it right.

Thanks in advance for your help Dave.

Best regards

Morten


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-05-31
#5

Your listed equipment for use with the new canon 5D ang sigma 8mm lens looks good.  I assume that you have only 1 Sigma 8 lens and will use it on both the pole HD RingT and Kit4 RingT.

We take 4 shots with the ringT and HD pole. Our older model pole turns freely does not have workable click stops. For me its easier to visually determine the 90 degree angles. 

Your new HD pole should have click stops for each 3 shots at 120 degrees.  You might verify the 3 click stop with Agnos.

Other than this.. I would proceed to order the Agnos equipment.  You will have excellent experiences.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-05-31
#6

Hi Dave

Tahnk you for looking at my list. I will definately ask Agnos if the new poles have click stops. I assume they do.

I just got my canon 5D today, but I wont recieve the 8mm lense untill next week. If I order tomorrow (friday) i guess I will have everything ready during next week. Then I can use the weekend to study the user manual. I am switching from a nikon 8700 to Canon 5D so I have to start learning again :o)

Thanks for your help and your advice.

Best regards

Morten Andersen


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-05-31
#7
Go for the Agnos kit.described above and l think we can help you create some fantastic imaging. Looking forward to help you make your projects work !!!!
/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-06-01
#8

Hi Dave

I just got an answer from Agnos about the click stops. The pole have these click stops:

2x180 - 3x120 - 4x90 - 6x60

 

So I have just ordered the equipment  (as you can see I am very exited *lol*)


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-06-01
#9

Hi Dave

I just remembered reading about a piece of software to remotely control the canon 5D from your computer. I read about it on Photomatixs web page. You can find the program here http://www.breezesys.com/DSLRRemotePro/index.htm 

Using this it will be possible to take multiple exposures when shooting elevated panoramas.

I also like the idea that it is possible to automatically take up to 15 bracketed shots, AND automatically combine them with Photomatix!!

Anyone having any experience with this program please share your experience using it.

Best regards

Morten Andersen

 


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-04-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 382
2007-06-01
#10
Hi Morten,

That's a great program, breezesys. It's too bad it's only made for Canon.

At any rate, it would be a challenge to do bracketed shots with with the agnos HD since you'll need two hands and a foot to rotate and steady the pole ... unless you had another person next to you holding and controlling he laptop. :)

r,
eagle
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 141
2007-06-02
#11

Hi Morten,

Your 5D should already be able to do this with the Canon bundled software and USB cable that comes with the camera. Just need to select 'PC Connect' for 'Communication' on the camera menu. connect camera to computer and you're off.

Simon