panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-08-21
#1

Canon 5D, sigma 8mm and Agnos TCP short

I got this set up with a RingT and I am having problems with finding the right settings. I get a lot of stitching problems.

Please look at http://www.wideeyes.dk/tours/fullscreen/park/park.html and youll see the problems I am experincing.

To find the right NPP I have tested my set up for serveral hours by moving the Ring T back and forward on the tripod. I keep the tripod the exact same place so I can compare the results. But I just cant get it right. I shoot 4+t

How have you guys manage to find the right NPP? It is driving me craaaaazy!!!

I hope someone can help me.

Best regards

Morten 


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-08-21
#2

Ok,  You are using a Canon 5d, Sigma 8, Agnos TCP short with the RingT.   I need to make this a tutorial anyway.  So today I will try to get it finished.

I see most of he stitch issue are in the top 30% of the stitched image. Yes you need to find the NPP.  In the mean time try stitching 1,2,3,4 only.  Do not use the +T Zenith up shot.  See if that helps.

I really like the resturant ...  full screen... and high quality musical arrangements.  Lots of 'Class'.  MUST fix those upper windows and ceiling !


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-08-21
#3

Hi Dave.

Yes I take 4 shots around and one up. Actually I wanted to just take 3 shots like with my old coolpix 8700 and fc e9, but I had difficulties getting the "roof" included. (this was the same problem with 4 every 90 degree)

Most of the scenes are stitched with 4+ zenith but the "Cigar Lounge" scene is actually stitched with only 4 images.

Could you please post a link to the tutorial you are writing?? It would be a great help.

Thank you for your help so far.

BEst regards

Morten


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-08-21
#4

Ok.. Here is a quick explanation.  PDF report will be available next day or so.  But essentially will say the same thing written below.

First you need to set the lens switch from auto focus to Manual focus.  Then move the focus ring to infinity.  Next I placed a piece of cello tape over the focus ring and lens housing to keep the focus ring from moving off point.  This combination of F/8 and focus at infinity provides the Sigma 8mm (both f/4 and f/3.5) to have maximum depth of field from 4" infront of the glass lens to infinity - ALL is in focus.

Next I set the mode dial to Av [Canon 5d aperature priority].   This allows the camera to determine the necessary shutter speed.

 

This photo shows the RingT attached to the 3/8 Plug. Next I will need remove the 3/8 Plug and attach the the ringT with Rotator base  installed directly to the tripod.  The photo is a bit fuzzy but sort of show where to first mount the lens.  Note the lens focus index mark is positioned on the 90 degree index mark on the RingT.

 

This next photo is a composite of 3 images.  In the center image notice I have placed the lens frensel center focus box [] over the top of a front stick.  In the background see another stick [broom handle].  So now we have 2 sticks.. one point in front of the lens 10cm (4") and one point 3 meters (about 10') behind.

Rotate the lens 40 degrees left and the two points do not move.  Rotate the lens 40 degrees right and the two points do not move.  IF EITHER point moves off center even by a hairs width then you must gently loosen the RingT and wiggle the lens either forward or back - tighten and retest 40 to left and right.  When finished neither the front or back point will move off center.

ADVANCED USERS

Move the mode dial to (M)anual.  Set the f/stop to f/8. 

Click stop 1, 
rotate the EV slider to 0 normal take image 1.  move the slider to -2 EV take image 2 underexposed,  move slider to +2EV take image 3 overexposed.

Clickstop 2
rotate the EV slider to 0 normal take image 1.  move the slider to -2 EV take image 2 underexposed,  move slider to +2EV take image 3 overexposed.

Clickstop 3 and/or 4 repeat.

In Panoweaver 5,  LOAD ALL 9 [3 click stops] or 12 [4 click stops]  image sets and process as HDR.

I think you will be surprised at the results.

 


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-08-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 1
2007-08-21
#5
Hi Morten,

I use a Canon 5d with a 8mm Sigma too. I prefer using only 3 shots around ( the fullframe with a 8mm fisheye gives you more than enough overlap with only 3 shots) using 4 shots around got me also into stitching problems !   
And when tilt the camera a few degrees up, you wont need a zenith shot! ( gives you a slightly bigger hole at the Nadir..)

I used the combination 5d with sigma 8mm for my digital greeting card, the panos at the beach were done handheld, the panos near and in the caravan were done with only 3 shots around . ( nodal ninja and tripod)
http://www.wouterborre.nl/projects/panorama/ZeelandVT/WouterBorre_Zeeland.html
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-08-21
#6

Exactly Borre360.  By tilting the lens UP 5 degrees will close the zenith pin hole but will make the nadir square slightly larger.  We typically place a nadir 360Texas logo patch.  Panoweaver calls this image nadir patch a "Floor" image.

Enjoyed your Postcard - was a quick holiday to the Netherlands.  Thanks

 


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-08-22
#7

Hi guys.

Yes I have also hear others telling that you should just tip the lense up a couple of degree. ok perphaps I am not the most logical person, but could you explain how this is done? (it is almost enbarrassing to ask) When the camera and lense is attatched to the RingT - then I can't see how I should be able to tilt it 5 degree. I know I can tilt it in 15 degree intervals, but I can't figure out how to just tilt it 5 degrees..........   

Best regards

Morten


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-08-22
#8
Loosen the RingT then tilt the lens up a little bit, tighten it.  The lens will be on a small skew.  You might run the risk of corrupting the NPP if you tilt too far up.  An alternative technique would be to cube your stitched image, edit clone out the hole, convert cube back to sphere.  The latter might be easier. 
/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-01-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 83
2007-08-22
#9
I have a canon 1ds Mark II and sigma 8 3.5 lens. I'm using the Agnos MrotatorTAS.  I'm shooting 3 shots. I have tryed the 5 deg tilt but can't get pano weiver 5.0 to stitch correctly unless it's perfectly level.  If I tilt up it misaligns some of the floor.  I can get flawless stitches out of PTgui 7.2 using the same pictures tho.  Is there something I have set wrong in PW5.0?
RTFM
www.FCEDesign.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-09-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 8
2007-09-16
#10
YES , i make 2 shots and ... WORK, tanks for all ! I will upload the images to show in next time !
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-09-17
#11
Well I guess we have 1 happy camper now.
/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com