panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Send Msg:
2009-07-16

Sigma 8mmF3.5 v Nikon 10.5 F2.8

Well, the Sigma is proving to be more expensive than the Nikon 10.5. I know the 10.5 is a little faster, if that is the correct term, so I don't see too many panos in low light.

I can get the Nikon 10.5 for $100 less than the Sigma 8mm F3.5

Aside from needing maybe 1 more photo in the circle, are there any other disadvantages of the 10.5 versus the Sigma 8?

I jut got off the phone with the guy I bought the D300 from and he said he has the Nikon 10.5 and did panos all the time and he thought the Sigma 8mm panos sometimes showed spherical aberrations, but I haven't noticed any although I am no expert.

Thoughts?

Thanks guys!
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Send Msg:
2009-07-17
I'm not sure it is fair to compare these to lenses in a competition style fight.

But, because these are still the most currently used lenses for panoramic work I'll happily talk about them.

First of the Sigma 8mm is a circular fisheye with a much wider FOV over the Nikkor 10.5mm full frame diagonal fisheye. Panoweaver looks at these images quite differently with the Sigma 8mm classed as "Drum" style and the Nikkor 10.5mm as 'Full Frame" style.

The Sigma 8mm fitted to a APS-C/DX small size sensor camera requires only 4 shots to cover 360x180 sphere. Where as the Nikkor 10.5mm requires (6+TB) or at a push (5+TB) reducing the overlap to very fine tolerances and creating more trouble than it's worth.

It is true the Sigma 8mm suffers from maybe a little more Chromatic Aberration but this is mostly because it is a wider lens in the first place. Either way, it is an easy fix during RAW processing. The Nikkor at f/2.8 is a slightly brighter lens but again this really isn't important when it comes to panorama shooting because you simply will not be shooting near this f/stop.