panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-09-27
Send Msg:
Posts: 9
2009-11-09
#1

Sigma 8mm f/3.5 NPP

Hi, may I know what is the NPP setting for the Sigma 8mm f/3.5 on Ultimate R1? Is the NPP on the golden ring of the lens? Thanks.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-10
#2
24mm @ +5 degrees

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-09-27
Send Msg:
Posts: 9
2009-11-10
#3

What about 3-shot at 0 degree? Thanks.


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-10
#4
Pointless shooting at 0 degrees with an APS-C DSLR. You will end up with holes in both the Nadir and Zenith.

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-09-27
Send Msg:
Posts: 9
2009-11-10
#5

Hi, I am using a D700. So can I check if 3 shots is sufficient? Do I need to shoot nadir and zenith for FF dslr?

Also is there any documentation on how to derive the NPP for Ultimate R1? So for only found writeups for NN5. Thanks.


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-10
#6
Full size sensor and a Sigma 8mm will require 3 shots at 120 degree stops with +5 tilt.

24mm is the correct setting.
This is not guess work, I shoot with this combination often (albeit Canon 5DMKII).

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-10
#7
FYI,

This is the link to the "official NNR1 list"
http://nodalninja.com/support/camerasettings.html

Take from it what you will. In my findings these quoted numbers are rarely correct or even close in some instances. But others seem to put up with them.

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-09-27
Send Msg:
Posts: 9
2009-11-10
#8

Hi, I saw that link before posting. And u r right, the numbers seem weird... lol.

Yes, of course no guesswork. May I know why +5deg tilt is needed as opposed to using 0deg? Won't we lose the nadir portion if we tilt up?


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-10
#9
You lose only a small portion of the captured tripod/panohead which I'm sure you don't want anyway?

Most would usually patch/clone/heal this area to remove the tripod or place a tripod cap over the top.

Better to have a slightly bigger nadir hole then have holes in both Nadir and the Zenith.

Sample of the hole at the Nadir:


Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-09-27
Send Msg:
Posts: 9
2009-11-11
#10

Well I hv seen yr pano, it seems u had took a Nadir shot, instead of placing a tripod cap/logo.

BTW, could u share yr 0 deg settings? Thanks.


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-11
#11
Quote: Originally posted by clavi on November-11-2009

Well I hv seen yr pano, it seems u hadtooka Nadir shot, instead ofplacing a tripod cap/logo.

BTW, could u share yr 0 deg settings? Thanks.



yr = why are
ur = You are/You're
ura = You are a

Sorry, don't have a 0 degree setting. As I have pointed out it is pointless.

I didn't shoot a nadir shot, this is the result of stitching 4 images with +5 degrees tilt. It can be easily cloned out, patched or simply have a tripod cap placed over the top to hide it completely.

Regards, Smooth