panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-10-05
Send Msg:
Posts: 110
2010-09-16
#1

Nikon D7000

Does anyone use the Nikon D7000? The 16.2 mp of this new camera caught my eye and wonder if there would be any advantage over my D300 12 mp? comments greatly appreciated.


Terry
Nikon D300(Sept08), Sigma 8mm, agnos short
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2010-09-16
#2

It was only released and announced two days ago! LOL

It fits between the D90 and D300s in the Nikon model line up. Read more at DPReview here

In reality it would be a downgrade from the D300 with the advantage of some extra pixels and of course HD Movie.

It's a hard one, Nikon will replace the D300s within 8 months (is my guess) and whatever it is will be far more advanced than the D7000.

If you were upgrading from a D90 I could see the reason, D300 - I think I would wait.

What is it that's captured your thoughts?

Regards, Smooth [8D]


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-10-05
Send Msg:
Posts: 110
2010-09-16
#3

Thanks Dave, Simply the pixel size. Thought that the difference of 4mb in it's capability may prove sufficient to justify the upgrade but, as you say, something else could be on the horizon(as always)


Terry
Nikon D300(Sept08), Sigma 8mm, agnos short
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2010-09-16
#4
Quote: Originally posted by Terry Nam on September-16-2010

Thanks Dave, Simply the pixel size. Thought that the difference of 4mb in it's capability may prove sufficient to justify the upgrade but, as you say, something else could be on the horizon(as always)


Dave? Your thinking of Mr 360Texas

Pixels aren't everything. Your downsizing the images anyway for panoramas. A DSLR with 6mp is enough for what we do for display in Tourweaver.

Regards, Smooth [8D]


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-10-05
Send Msg:
Posts: 110
2010-09-16
#5
Ooooops! Sorry Smooth.....your're younger....
Terry
Nikon D300(Sept08), Sigma 8mm, agnos short
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-11-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 315
2010-09-17
#6

I agree with what has been said  and I'll this

Disadvantage if you have a remote trigger it will not work on the D7000 as I have the D3000 and the D300.

no - optional 10-pin remotes on the D3000 or D7000 [:(]

I prefer the D300 for my primary Camera. I have the D3000 for backup and for everyday usage as to not shoot to much on the D300 and for quick video


Lee Scott - Nikon D3/D300/D5000 - |shaved Nikkor 10.5 mm| Manfrotto 055XPROB tripod /322RC2 Grip - Mrotator TCS |CS5 | PW7 & TW6.5 Pro
----
To err is human ... to not try is just plain lazy
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-10-05
Send Msg:
Posts: 110
2010-09-17
#7
Thanks for your advice, I shall be patient and wait for the D300 upgrade, not that it needs it but merely seeking to perfect what I provide to my clients(and me!).
Terry
Nikon D300(Sept08), Sigma 8mm, agnos short