panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2009-02-09
#1

Airplane Tour

Hey guys,

Working on some airplanes that will soon be going on the market.  Just looking for your thoughts on how the first one is coming along.

Products used:  PW5 to stitch...TW4 for tour...Photoshop

The page that opens will be getting some still shots added to it this evening.  Just want to make it look as apealing as I can before presenting to the client.

Aircraft Sale

Thanks,
bp


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-01-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 200
2009-02-10
#2

Looks good.  Are you still using the older viewer?  Wonder what the updated viewer would look like?

Rob


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-02-10
#3

Great effort Pixel,

The only thing that put me off was no loader between scenes and it was slow loading. White "nothing" between scenes is very off putting.

Very nice.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2009-02-10
#4
Quote: Originally posted by Rob63 on February-10-2009

Looks good. Are you still using the older viewer? Wonder what the updated viewer would look like?

Rob




Thanks Rob,
I'm not sure I follow you on the updated viewer? What do you mean by this?

I have not updated TW4 with the last two roll outs simply because of the trouble Smooth has had. Have the issues been corrected in the latest version?

Is this what you are referring too, when you say updated viewer?

Thanks for the input and look forward to seeing if I can improve the tour with your suggestion.

Regards,
bp
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2009-02-10
#5
Quote: Originally posted by smooth on February-10-2009

Great effort Pixel,

The only thing that put me off was no loader between scenes and it was slow loading. White "nothing" between scenes is very off putting.

Very nice.

Regards, Smooth




Thanks Smooth for the comments.

I do agree it is SLOW to load. I wish EP would fix TW4 to the way TW3 worked with pre-loading the image.
So how do I go about adding a "loader" between scenes? Also, I chose to fade in, fade out with the scenes...not sure why you are seeing "white/nothing"...?hhmmm

By the way the one day I have a lot going on my server decides to not load...got-ta love it. I have contacted my hosting company and awaiting word how long it will be down.

Thanks Smooth for the help and suggestions,
bp

Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-01-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 200
2009-02-10
#6

Yes, I meant the latest TW4 update, which included a new image viewer.  It rotates a bit smoother when you drag with your mouse, glides a bit as it comes to a stop.  I know there may be other problems with it, but since I don't use those features affected by the update it hasn't bothered me, yet.

Rob


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2009-02-11
#7
Hey Guys,

Last night I upgraded to the latest TW4. Must say I'm not real impressed with the new viewer at this point. Had a little trouble with adding a frame but I think I sorted it...fingers are crossed at this point.

Any way here is the upgraded tour...no more white screen Smooth

So give it to me good or bad...it is the only way I'll get better.

View Airplane Update

Best regards,
pixel
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2009-02-11
#8
Nice talking with you tonight Matt. Like the tour very much but I agree that viewer has got to go. We can not ask clients to pay for something like that. Hope they get it fixed as I like the product just not the viewer.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2009-02-12
#9
Good Morning Pano Friends,

Is there anything at all I can do on my end to help remove the jaggedness from the tour?

Would it help if I dropped the size of the scene viewer down?

The pano images are 2500 x 1250 at 1.5mb - 1.7mb in size.

Thanks,
pixel
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2009-02-12
#10

I am comparing your panorama to the rotation/ display from a QTVR.

I think Jaggies are usually caused by two issues.  The viewer software ability to rotate/ refresh rate and the original image is a bit over sharpened.  This is rotate 1/10 of 1 degree then redraw the image... rotatoe 1/10 of 1 degree then redraw the image type rotation.   2/10 of 1 degree is faster rotation step = faster rotation.

I do see the original single images - they are not over sharpened. They are clean clear.. and bit under exposed on my calibrated monitor.  You did do a good job on white balancing.   Jpeg over compression also causes jaggies.

Yes I read your note about your imges 2500 x 1250 and 1.5 - 1.7 mb.  Did you look in the SCENE folder for the Tourweaver version of the panorama.  At one time  TW would resize and recompress the .jpg panorama.  What is the size and dimension of the panorama in the SCENE folder ?  Is it the same size ?

The other part is the display viewer.  Yes, it could also be the viewers ability to display the panorama.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2009-02-12
#11
Thanks Dave for the input

A few things;

First things first...
I'm disapointed to find EP removed the option to output in Quicktime format. Funny, I just realized this today as I was going to upload a Quicktime format of the airplane for you guys to view after your comments of comparing to Quicktime.

I understand that Flash is where it's at right now and most end users have it loaded on their PC. However, TW 1.3 incorporated it why not TW4...seems like a step backwards. EP could you include Quicktime format again to the TW product?

About the "image is a bit over sharpened"
The only sharping that I performed was in PSCS3 processing my RAW files.
Under the Detail tab the settings were as follows:
Amount 45
Radius 1.5
Detail 30
Masking 0
Noise Reduction Settings
Luminance 5
Color 20
So at this point I'm going to have to disagree with "over sharping"

The single images you are referring to have the same exact settings as the tour images. So again I feel they are not over sharpened. Histogram does not show underexposure?
Jpeg compression came into play when sizing my final stitched .TIFF images. Images were stitched at 4000x2000 then sized down to 2500 x 1250 and saved for web with a quality of %100 giving me an output target size of around 1.6mb. So at this point I do not feel that Jpeg over compression is the culprit either.?

I did take a look in the scene folder and what TW has done is sliced it up. I have 14 images for each scene. The first 9 are 500 x 500 with a target size of 100kb - 199kb. The last 5 are 500 x 250 with target sizes ranging from 58.3kb - 71.9kb.

So at this point I can't give you an accurate reading for file size comparison.

I did a bit of testing this morning with Pano2QTVR. The first link I'll provide below has these settings:
Tile Settings
Cube Face 499
Subdivision 3x3
Quality 100
Movie Properties
Window Size 970 x 700 (same as my TW4 Flash Tour)
Quality High
These settings provided an Quicktime movie file size of 1.34mb

The second link below will show a Quicktime movie with the following properties:
Tile Settings
Cube Face 1000
Subdivision 3x3
Quality 100
Movie Properties
Window Size 970 x 700 (keeping things the same for testing)
Quality High
These settings provided an Quicktime movie file size of 3.67mb

Link to 1.34mb Quicktime

Link to 3.67mb Quicktime

At this point I'm going to do one more test. I'm going to size the scene viewer of my TW4 Flash tour from 970 x 700 to something a bit smaller. Perhaps something like 670 x 400 just to see if there is any difference. If that is the case I'll have to worry about full screen when crossing that bridge.

I really just can't help but think it's the viewer all together. I don't recall TW3's viewer doing this to my images...?

Off to resize a scene viewer.

Thanks for the feedback,
pixel