panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Send Msg:
2002-11-26

Help Me Please !!!

Hi everybody,

Well I'm a newbie at this!

Well, a newbie at Panoweaver and Fish Eye photography.

Here's what I need help with,

I own a Nikon Coolpix 4500 and a Nikon FC-E8 fish eye lense and for the life of me I cannot get a crisp clean image when using the Fish Eye Lense

Their must be something I'm missing in the set up?

Everytime I take a picture in daylight the photo is over expossed.

Sky is white? Yet using the camera without the lense images are perfect!

I have it (lense Setting) set to Fish Eye 1

I have played with the ISO and the satuation setting and even set the White Balance but no good as yet!

I hope someone can help me out.

Regards, Smooth  

P.S. See a sample here

Alternate Text
Send Msg:
2002-11-26

Over-exposed is right!!!

I'm using the 995 and am not familiar with the newer 4500, but here are a couple ideas:

1)  Check the exposure setting- is it set to automatic or to manual?

a) If it's set to "auto", try "manual"

b) If it's set to "manual", try "stopping-down" SEVERAL stops to see if this darkens the photo.  If so, I'd have the camera checked out and re-calibrated 'cause you shouldn't have to manually adjust the exposure settings.

2) Is the camera set for "Aperature-Priority"?  If so, pressing the shutter-release button halfway down will (should) indicate whether or not the result will be overexposed.  If so, you'll need to try a different aperature setting.

3) Is the camera set for "Shutter-Priority"?  If so, increase the shutter speed. Again, pressing the shutter-release button halfway down will indicate whether or not the result will be overexposed. 

4) Try changing the lens setting from "Fisheye 1" to "Normal" (if "Normal" is what it's called on the 4500) and zoom out to the maximum.  If your exposure is better with the "Normal lens" setting, then the internal "Fisheye 1" setting may need re-calibrating. 

Good luck!