panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-05-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 212
2005-06-05
#1

Why RAW over TIFF?

Hi all

Very basic question but can someone please clarify this point?  As far as my eyes can tell, there's little difference between the two aside from an extra step in workflow (with RAW).

Cheers

Steiner


Condottiero - Freelance Multimedia Design
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 959
2005-06-05
#2

http://www.photo.net/learn/raw/

should tell u all u need to know.

PS... I was lazy and asked in google and posted the first link I found. Well at least I made the effort to ask google... hahahaha


If I only had an hour to chop down a tree... I'd spend 45 mins sharpening the axe.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2005-06-05
#3

Hmmm lets see.

Here is a really 5 years old panorama we shot with a Nikon 990 and the FC-E8 fisheye.  Select any one of the red dots.   To turn off the music, click the on/off button in lower right corner of the screen.

http://www.360texas.com/feature/afeature1.htm

Here are some RAW converted to TIFF to JPG we took with last March at the Mi Hotelito.  Select any of the 5 java or QTVR full screen images.  http://www.360texas.com/services/hotel/2004/index.htm

The visitor needs to see high quality on their monitor and that will depend on how  the images were taken originally.

Other good uses for RAW and TIF are for brochures and printed matter your client might need.

Dave

 


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 751
2005-06-05
#4

dave, mi hotelito looks a much better than el dorado.

why is it  better? did you use different equipment?


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2005-06-05
#5

Nikon 990 and FC-e8 (years 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004)
Cancun
El Dorado Royal
Playa Maroma Beach
Playa Del Carmen

Canon20d/Sigma 8 and Canon 350d  (Starting March 2005)
El Dorado Seaside Suites
Mi Hotelito

Dave


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-05-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 212
2005-06-05
#6
Quote: Originally posted by phoenixrising on June-05-2005

PS... I was lazy and asked in google and posted the first link I found. Well at least I made the effort to ask google... hahahaha


Yes - point taken Pheonix.  I should have Googled this one. 


Condottiero - Freelance Multimedia Design
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 751
2005-06-05
#7

dave,

how many shots were used for the hotelito tour?

Canon20d/Sigma 8 - can this set up do 2 shot pano in 360x360?

Canon 350d /sigma 8 - can this set up do 2 shot pano in 360x360?


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2005-06-06
#8

Hi VT360

The Sigma 8 is a full circle fisheye, and the left and right side of the circle are sensor sized cropped, hence 4 shot drum type images.

The Canon 20d with the Sigma 8 uses 4 'Drum' images at 90 with no T&B.  The bottom tripod cap is the glass sphere (PS action).  And there is a small pin hole at the zenith top.. which I fix in PS.

20d and 350d have the same sized 8mp sensor.  Both cameras use the same lens.  Here in the US the 350d black body is marketed as the new Rebel XT.  The older Rebel is only 6mp.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 959
2005-06-07
#9
No matter Steiner... all questions are valid... and it has started another nice string.
If I only had an hour to chop down a tree... I'd spend 45 mins sharpening the axe.