panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-05-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 212
2005-07-17
#1

Quicktime VR .mov hangs

Hi all

This is off topic so apologies to EasyPano - but it's the only forum that I know of that could possibly help with this query!

I created a VR of the Bayeaux Tapestry for a school way back in 2000 using a Mac and Apple QuickTime VR software.  However, I've just noticed that the VR now hangs whenever you try to scroll along it:

http://www.condottiero.com/ep675p9oyht9/tap/

Has there been changes to the Quicktime plugin that render VRs of this age unusable?  I seem to remember that Apple was doing alot of bug fixing in those days.  Could it be that I have node links within it??

Thanks in advance

Steiner


Condottiero - Freelance Multimedia Design
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-10-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 60
2005-07-17
#2

Hi, Steiner,

your QT does not hang in my machine (Win2000, most recent QuickTime Player), it plays fine.

Regards

Holger


Holger Schulz, photoaround
http://www.photoaround.de
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-05-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 212
2005-07-17
#3

Really?  Thanks Holger - it seems my machine is giving me a few problems then.  I'm on XP service pack 2 but it may well be a fault on my end.

Cheers

Steiner


Condottiero - Freelance Multimedia Design
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-27
Send Msg:
Posts: 70
2005-07-17
#4
It locks up both Firefox 1.0.4 and Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180 for me.

Windows XP SP2 QuickTime 6.5.2

John
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-07-18
#5

It killed my I.E 6.0 to the point it shut down.

Windows XP Service Pack 2

Quicktime 6.5.2 Pro

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 141
2005-07-18
#6

Think the problem lies in your coding, didn't notice a line <param name="src" value="yourpanoname.mov"> which is preferred to the 'Embed' command required by Apple computers. You need both.

Below is the html I've used for a pano named 'cliffs.mov' which contains more code than you need, but might help.

Please ignore this if I've just missed this code in your source in my rush. It did actually load for me (2nd attempt) with WinXP, IE6

<object classid="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B" width="99%" height="89%" codebase="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab">
  <param name="scale" value="tofit">
  <param name="controller" value="true">
  <param name="cache" value="false">
  <param name="bgcolor" value="#000000">
  <param name="src" value="cliffs.mov">
  <embed src="cliffs.mov" width="99%" height="89%" type="video/quicktime" controller="true" cache="false" scale="tofit" pluginspage="http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/" bgcolor="#000000">
  </embed> 

Hope this helps,       Simon


Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-05-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 212
2005-07-18
#7

Hello Simon

Many thanks for the suggested code.  I've given it a go but IE still freezes up.  The error report states the following:

C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER7a37.dir00\iexplore.exe.mdmp

C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER7a37.dir00\appcompat.txt

To be honest though - I can rarely make use of this sort of tech report.  I think I may well be stuck on this as I'm fairly sure it's down to it being an old QTVR .mov file and resultant changes in the QT player.  I'd simply go back to the original source files and redo it in Panoweaver but that means setting up the old Mac which is now buried somewhere in my attic!

Thanks again

Steiner


Condottiero - Freelance Multimedia Design
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-07-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 372
2005-07-18
#8
hi steiner why dont you open it in an up to date version of QT and resave it in there? maybe this might help. I know someone who has QT pro if its not possible with QT player.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2005-07-18
#9

Yes it hangs here too

XPpro SP1, IE 6  Sun Java 5.0.0.3810

I could see the following:

Java Console:  No errors to report

File downloading: took 1min 12 seconds to display on screen.  I could see the horizontal tapestry initial view, however it would not rotate.  At this point the browser hung,  xp reported a browser error and immediately closed with the customary "report to Microsoft".

File name ep675p90yht9/tap/3_5_00_cine.mov

The page would not let me view source so I could not review the code.

Hope that helps

Dave


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-12-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 84
2005-07-30
#10
It hangs on my PC as well. It loads up and I can move arround with the Mouse.

I have the same problem. My quicktime movie wont autoplay at all. Nor after the Panoweaver creation of it, nor loaded into the latest QuickTime Player 6.5.

And I have tried out all the parameters from false to true and also different scripts from different forum.

Markus
http://www.powertext.ch Canon 20D / Sigma 8mm / Roundshot VR-Drive
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-07-30
#11

There is no "autoplay" feature with Quicktime movies created with Panoweaver. For this you need to add the correct "sprite" track to the movie.

If you take a look at my "Fullscreen" galley page you will see Quicktime movies with the auto rotation sprites embedded.

Mouse drag is the only standard way of rotation and is correct for just about all software that produces Quicktime movies.

Regards, Smooth