panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 3
2005-07-21
#1

Prep images for easy Pano

I have a Nikon D2h and I am using the Sigma 8mm fisheye. I shoot 6 shots around and 1 up 1 down and put them in easy pano and they are not lining up. Is there any prep I need to do to the images before importing into easy Pano?  
Dave
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-07-21
#2

Welcome Dave,

You should be taking 4 shots in portrait mode plus up and down whilst using a spherical panorama head like the www.agnos.com MrotatorTCPShort

These are known as drum images. Using Panoweaver 4.0 select "Drum 4 T+B" and stitch. Things to consider are using the AE lock with the camera in Manual mode.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2005-07-21
#3

He is correct.  Suggest 4 images each at 90.

After the 4th image rotation position, rotate your camera straight up to the zenith (top) and take the top image. 

Rotate the camera directly down at same 4th yaw angle and elevation, remove the tripod,  hold camera at arms length and take the Nadir (floor).  Yes we realize we will see your feet.   Sounds a bit like rubbing your tummy while patting your head.

OR,  use the photoshop action "Glass gazing ball" to replace your tripod head.

Then try the 4 +T & or B

The other Dave

 


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-02-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 127
2005-07-21
#4

mediaLEGENDS: Got yer nodal point identified?

Smooth: but does AE lock achieve anything with the camera in manual mode? I would have thought that in manual mode with ISO, apertutre and shutter speed set there aint much else to lock? Please set me straight.

Glenn


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 3
2005-07-21
#5
yes I have the nodle point identified I am going off og the gold band on the sigma lens which is what sigma says to do..
Dave
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 959
2005-07-25
#6

Hi Spinem,

as far as I'm aware, the nodal point is at the centre of the gold ring or close enough.


If I only had an hour to chop down a tree... I'd spend 45 mins sharpening the axe.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-02-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 127
2005-07-21
#7

Ticked that box then


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 3
2005-07-21
#8

Do I have to de-fisheye my images with photoshop or like program before I put them in easypano?


Dave
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-10-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 58
2005-07-21
#9

I used a D2X/10.5mm and 360precision head did 6 shots portrait and one one Up and I could not get proper alignment, as in alot of errors and the top image is totally out.... e.g. If the alignment error is slight i guess is fine but its too way out. I have sample images here for anyone who would like to try.

http://www.raihanisah.com/set4.zip

ys

 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 118
2005-07-22
#10

360Texas,

"OR,  use the photoshop action "Glass gazing ball" to replace your tripod head."

How do I do that in photoshop cs2?

Do I have to purchase the action?

Virtual SV


Miguel Martinez
Virtual Tour Designer
360 Design Studio (Formally known as VirtualSV)
support@360designstudio.com

Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-07-22
#11

mediaLEGENDS,

You do NOT de-fish your images.

What panorama head are you using?

yowsiang,

It is a known fact that other's on many forums are complaining about the very same issue with your set up using various software packages.

virtualsv,

It is a free action for Photoshop, jump on google and see if you can't find it. Better still forget it and learn to clean your images so you don't ever need it. It is really an over done thing in panorama's! If you really must cap something make a nice tripod advertising your business or the company your making it for. 360texas might point you to the action.

Regards, Smooth