panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2003-01-25
#1

Shopping Mall 6 pano tour - show and tell

We just finished a 6 pano shopping mall site using Panoweaver 3.01 and got better than fair results.  What do you think?

Comments are welcome?

http://360texas.com/malls/tem/index.htm

Dave


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2003-01-26
#2

Hey Dave,

Nice work mate!

OK, so now I want all the gossip on your stationary 360Texas logo.

How is this done? Teach me please.

Also what would be a "normal" charge for doing the pano's for the shopping center based on a per pano charge? (without the webpage work)

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2003-01-27
#3

Hmmm.. not sure what you are looking for concerning stationary 360Texas logo??  Are you talking about the tripod cap at the bottom of the pan?

Thats is the most flexible and easiest to do.  Using Photoshop, I made a transparent .gif circle.  Put some text on it.  Then when you are looking at the popup image.... do a view view source and look for this <param code string:

<PARAM name = file value = "ptviewer:0">

 <PARAM name = pano0 value =
 "{file=4.jpg}
  {hotspot0= X488 Y488 n'Click to see 360Texas Package Pricing' q i'tcap.gif'}">

What this says is:

ptviewer:0  display this panorama first
pano0 = 4.jpg or the panorama name

Put a hotspot0 at mid point in the image at the bottom x488 pixels from the left and y 488 pixels down from image top. On mouse over a very tiny hotzone display text Click to See 360Texas Pricing.. but I don't have a page URL specified.. so its useless right now.  Then display at the x, y 488 location the transparent file called tcap.gif.

Code stays the same for each popup page displaying the pano.  Only variable would be to change tcap.gif  to your favorite tripod cap image. Just make a new transparent image.. give it a new filename and replace tcap.gif  with yourcap.gif in the code string.

Tripod cap should be transparent and very small file size.  It can be a gif of the continent of Australia, your company logo... or plain text.  Typically the cap should be 200 x 200 pixels square or smaller... to cover up the tripod head in the bottom.

The process is very flexible... code stays the same,  image and filename changes from one project to the next.  AND the tcap.gif sits on a layer and is not a part of the panorama image.

Oh.. what do we normally charge??  Please see our pricing "info page" when selecting Services item in our menu on home page.

Hope this helps 

 


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-13
Send Msg:
Posts: 14
2003-01-27
#4

Just two words!!!!

Good work! or perfect stitching!!!

You aren't afraid by ipix patent ( of course not, because of 3 fisheye pictures used)

I 'll realise some pictures like yours in France in several days but maybe with no same results! wait and see!!! ;o)

Matthias from France


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-11-02
Send Msg:
Posts: 37
2003-01-27
#5

Superb shots, they have been taken really well and considering the amount of detail in the shots are pretty seamless.

I am somewhat taken back by the results as I have found the version 3 panogear to be quite a hinderance when producing seamless images, as it is not possible to output a 'layered' photoshop image. I have tended to rely quite heavily on ps to touch-up the photo's afterwards. (in version 2.4) and find myself having difficulty creating seamless wonders like these beauties.

Did you manage to get these results just from Panoweaver or were other softwares used to help with the seams. Sorry to be so negative about the pano software, just teething difficulties I hope, ....

Seaman, do you know if a layered output will be designed into the newer upgrades as in 2.4, I found it essential.


Welcome to my world
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2003-01-28
#6

Hi Dave,

Thanks for the tip mate, I'm on top of it now.

I hadn't even thought to use a layer in this way.  why I'm not sure?

Still, I'm learning fast thanks to you and  the help from this forum and it's friendly members

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2003-01-28
#7

Thank you for the kind words. 

Actually, I used a 990 with a fe.. in FE1 mode..Kiadan kiwi990 pan head adjusted for the proper nodal point and took shot 3 shot series. 

In photoshop7 used the 990's FULL NORMAL res.  2048 x 1536.  PREstitch work flow > rotate ccw 90, cropped eached to 1424 x 1424 and removed the white back ground.

In PW3.01, brought all 3 in and set the x,y and radius to 712  [1424 / 2 = 712]  Did stitch.  Saved out as a CD-r quality 3000 x 1500 12.6mb bmp.

Back in Photoshop - did the necessary clean up.  Yes..there were one or 2 mismatches.  Removed my shadow from the floor carpet. AND  unsharpened to remove the natural Fisheye fuzz.  Saved the final bmp.  Then resized down to 3.7mb.  "Saved for web" and converted to baseline .jpg ONLY 1 time with a new filename.jpg.  Closed the .bmp when asked to save.. say no. Because you saved the .bmp at a larger 3000 x 1500 above. Don't want to save to reduced image dimensions.

Normally we save to .jpg as the last step compressed down to 70 -90kb "Downtown Fort Worth 3Dmap, however, the destination is for a CD-r and shopping mall mini webpage.. so I compromised to around 160kb on this set.  Slower download.. but.. did want you to see them here in the forum.

So now the secret is public - now go try the process and see what you get.  Please do a show and tell for us here in the forum.

Dave


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-11-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 59
2003-01-28
#8
Great work Dave!  And your helpful attitude is really appreciated.
callgary
E-mail Gary
Every moment is a learning experience. What have I learned today? What have I taught today?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 959
2003-01-28
#9
Do like ur work Dave,

am still practising with the demo and getting better shots. Find though that when I do the FE1 mode that the infinity zoom setting results in lack of sharpness. So I just went to no lens attached and pulled the zoom way back and was then able to let the autofocus do the work which does not happen when on FE1. Still get the desired circle pic and better sharpness.
Some questions:
Are there any aperture recommendations for shots say for a room, an indoor hall and outside... so as to gain better sharpness?
Oh yeah, what do u mean with unsharpend to remove the fuzz (my problemo) as I've been doing (oh my software is in German and I have at times translating problems) mask unsharpness.(Photoshop) (cp990)
What soft ware do u use to make the virtual tour layout?

Btw Muchos Gracias for ur invaluable advice and tips.
If I only had an hour to chop down a tree... I'd spend 45 mins sharpening the axe.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2003-01-30
#10

Hi all,

Why was my post removed? (that I left here 29th January)

Did I ask something that was wrong?

I can only guess it was by a moderator, they were just questions and a little praise for Dave/Texas360

I don't understand why it was removed?

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2003-01-30
#11

I understand that the panoweaver server was hit by that last virus/ worm and was off line for a day... as a result. may have accidently dropped incoming comments while the server was trying to resolve.

No.. no one here is dropping or removing comments - no need to.. everyones comments are worthy of the time and thoughts and willingness to share with others.

If you have a moment.. please repost...

We appologise for the inconvenience.

Dave ... 'still way over here in Texas' 


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com