panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 24
2006-01-31
#1

simple question regarding Dynamic Range

hi :

i heard people always talking alot about Dynamic Range image. what i understand about dynamic range is that thy will take a few shots at different exposures and then use software such as photoshop or photomatix to overlap them into a final image. my question is ... if the photo i take involve moving objects in the sence (eg. humen, cars etc...) how can i overlap the moving objects in these type of images? 

fatchai


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-10-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 60
2006-01-31
#2

Hi, fatchai,

you cannot create HDR images of moving objects with this method. On windy days it is even difficult to take landscape shots as leaves and branches of trees are moving too much. Creating HDR images is perfect for indoor shots, for outdoor shots only at locations without moving subjects and wind.

Holger


Holger Schulz, photoaround
http://www.photoaround.de
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-01-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5
2006-01-31
#3

So how do people get some great shots I've seen with people in them?  I've seen even indoor shoots with people in them that seem to be perfectly exposed.  I shoot real estate scenes without people and use Photomatix to help even the varied lighting conditions, but I would like to shoot comercial applications that may involve people moving in the scene.  Anyone out there have any suggestions?  Thanks.


Canon 20D - Sigma 8mm 3.5 EXDG - Manfrotto 3021BN Tipod - Panoweaver 4.0
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-01-31
#4

When you shoot RAW you in fact have a lot of information and can use this information to your advantage and produce many different exposed images from the one RAW file. This will go a great way to giving your the results you are chasing.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 188
2006-01-31
#5
You can use Photmatix to combine multiple exposures and everything that is stationary will look great. However, anything moving will be kinda ghosted. I did this once with a room that had a cat walking around. The cat looked like it was shot with a strobe and was in three different positions at once. It wasn't bad though and easily fixed in Photoshop. I also did an outdoor scene with trees swaying in the wind. The trees looked fine, although blurred, but the nearby plants looked aweful since their movement was more dramatic.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2006-01-31
#6

Hi

Try reading this article about HDR

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/hdr.shtml

I also remember reading about photoimpact from www.ulead.com that you are able to cut out parts of an image eg if a person is in one of the exposures. Nice feature but I can't tell you more about is as I have not tried the program my self.

Hope some of this helps

Best regards

Morten Andersen

- a newbie trying to improve


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-02-01
#7

Yes, that would be using masks. This is not really necessary. As I stated you can pull multiple images of different exposure value's from one RAW file. You then use these images with your HDR program to produce your final image.

You only need (1) shot to get multiple exposed images of the same shot, but it must be (1) Raw shot to start with.

Regards, Smooth