panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-09-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 20
2006-09-24
#1

color variation

when shooting photos, what is the best way to shoot?  use natural light or close blinds and use room light?  when i shoot with the blinds open that frame is a little bit darker than my other room shoots.  can some expert help me with this issue.  and if any, what comments do you have on adobe photoshop cs2 as my photo editing software.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-07-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 372
2006-09-25
#2
IMO, Internal lighting always gives a better ambience in a room than natural light. & photoshop CS2 is industry standard software, currently the best image manipulation software money can buy... IF you can use it of course..
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2006-09-25
#3
Either inside or out.. just use a test 18% Gray Card to assure color temperature consistency.  Most digital cameras have a "Learn White Balance" mode
/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-09-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 20
2006-09-25
#4
thanks a bunch
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-04-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 221
2006-09-25
#5
I started using Photoshop a few months ago, and you can (if you have the right plugins) do some tweaking after you stitched the pano.
Look at this pic I took about 4 years ago (white balance?? huh? nodal/paralax point??? what?? ae lock?? iso?? yeah, the higher the better no??)




And look at the same pic after some photoshop work:




I'm sure it's possible to get an even better result, but as I typed before: I'm just starting to learn photoshop.
Keywords for this one: noise ninja, ultra sharpen, clone/patch tool and the 1 step photo fix option in paint shop pro.


Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-09-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 20
2006-09-25
#6
thats what some of my shoots look like and i have been trying to get the balance to be even.  glad to know that someone else had the same problem. by the way, which photoshop are you using? did you edit each idividual shoot or did you edit a panaroma?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-04-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 221
2006-09-26
#7
I used photoshop cs2, with the mentioned plugins. I stitched the pano's, saved to a big bmp file and then edited the panorama's in photoshop.
The result is better than the original, but it's not a quality i would sell to a customer. If you can, reshoot the scene (with 3*120 degrees pics) with the correct white balance, iso100 and ae lock.