panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 40
2007-04-10
#1

AUTOCAD VIRTUAL TOUR

Ok so I thought I'd share just to get opinions since I haven't yet.

Working on a virtual tour based on renderings and no actual photos.

Here's the start of it.  Let me know what you think?

http://www.thewebtropolis.com/CADTOUR/wholeTour/Tourviewer_Boardroom.html


EQUIPMENT: NIKON D80 CAMERA, AGNOS MROTATOR TCPS W/ RING, Sigma F/3.5 8mm Fisheye Lens
ITDVDS.COM
"Online Training For I.T. Professionals"
www.itdvds.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-11-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 156
2007-04-11
#2

Thats pretty sweet. I have a Autocad files of this job I'm working on, was it hard to do? Heres a tour of the buildings I have files for.

http://www.cajunpalms.com/multimedia.html

 


Roadkill
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 40
2007-04-11
#3

Actually it was surprisingly easy.  I'm hoping to find somesort of market for this.  Let me know if anyone has any ideas.  I'm thinking it would be good for new constructions, re-models, future condos (get em filled while still being built) and maybe even good for getting permits passed.  With this type of tour there's no tripod.  The camera can literally be anywhere.  You could do an aerial shot if you wanted to.


EQUIPMENT: NIKON D80 CAMERA, AGNOS MROTATOR TCPS W/ RING, Sigma F/3.5 8mm Fisheye Lens
ITDVDS.COM
"Online Training For I.T. Professionals"
www.itdvds.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-06-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 154
2007-04-11
#4
That looks great - What cad software are you using?
Will Best
Virtual Impressions Inc.
Real Estate Virtual Tours and Floor Plans
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 40
2007-04-11
#5

I first wanted to see if this is something that could be done.  So I asked an architecture firm to supply me with a DWG file.  Not sure which AutoCAD program they used to create it.  I think most will produce this file format though.

  I then imported the file into 3D Studio Max.  This first file was very basic.  You can see it below.  At that point I placed the cameras and used the built in Panorama Exporter.  This sounds more complicated than it really is.  I actually know next to nothing about 3D Studio Max, so if I can do it anyone can.  If anyone trys it and has problems let me know and I'll try and post the steps.

The Panorama Exporter kicks out a finished spherical panoram.  Pretty hands off.  You just tell it which little camera you want it to render and it spins and does it itself.  Then you take the finished bring it into Panoweaver and you're good to go.

I then wanted to produce a very impressive one to show clients.  Since I'm not a 3d max genius I bought the finished boardroom shown at the link above from http://www.turbosquid.com .  I think in cost me around $50.  Same process though.

So you can see you can do something that is very basic or very detailed.  I'm thinking if you can get the people that actually do architectural renderings or fly throughs that would be a good thing.


EQUIPMENT: NIKON D80 CAMERA, AGNOS MROTATOR TCPS W/ RING, Sigma F/3.5 8mm Fisheye Lens
ITDVDS.COM
"Online Training For I.T. Professionals"
www.itdvds.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-04-11
#6

Hi Olybouy

That looks amazing. I see an amazing opportunity in virtual tours like this. It is a great opportunity to sell virtual tours to developers etc.  I have already some contact with 1-2 architechts. I will definately look further in to this opportunity. My main concerns is that I do not own 3D studio MAx and as far as I remember it is very expensive. Also I will not be able to make the 3D models, so I have to be sure that the architecht have got them.

Would you mind sharing your examples so I can experiment with it? If they turn out any good I will of course pay for them.

Best regards

Morten  


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 40
2007-04-11
#7

Yes 3D Studio Max is an expensive program and has a high learning curve.  I'll see what I can do about providing samples to practice on.

I'll tell you what though and this goes for everyone.  If you would like to add this as something you can offer your clients, but either do not have this program or do not have the desire to learn 3D Studio Max I would be willing to be outsourced to. 

You provide me with the DWG file or whatever your architect/rendering house uses and I kick you back a finished stitched panorama (JPG or BMP) like the one above.  My logo won't be on it or anything.  You are free to then take it into Panoweaver and brand it however you like with your name and logo. 

Like I said this is a new thing to me too and I'm not a 3D MAX  genius so I won't be adding to the architects drawing.  In other words if there's not carpet or finished looking chairs in the file you give me there won't be that in there when you get it back.  You'll get back what you give me in othe words. 

I'm not sure what file types I can accept, but for sure .DWG & .3DS can be used.  I'm pretty good at finding work arounds though. 

I don't have a problem if you send me the file either and want me to take a look at it before you tell your client if it can be done or not using their file.  I just tell your client this is a totally new thing and the bugs are still be worked out, but you (meaning the client) would be the 1st in the neighborhood to have it.

Like I said I have no desire to brand the finished product as my own unless you would like me too. 

Anyone who's interested here's my website http://www.thewtrop.com .  Go to the contact section and you'll see how to reach me.


EQUIPMENT: NIKON D80 CAMERA, AGNOS MROTATOR TCPS W/ RING, Sigma F/3.5 8mm Fisheye Lens
ITDVDS.COM
"Online Training For I.T. Professionals"
www.itdvds.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-04-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 382
2007-04-11
#8

Awesome stuff.  Thanks for sharing.

r,
eagle


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 751
2007-04-20
#9

olyboy,

which 3d max studio version are u using?

thanks


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 188
2007-04-20
#10
This is totally cool! I'll keep you in mind.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 40
2007-04-22
#11

Hi Everyone.

I had  a few requests for the JPG'S of the stiched panos for what I posted.  Here's the link to download them.

http://www.thewebtropolis.com/CADTOUR/AUTOCADPANOS.zip

Like I said you are more then welcome to brand them however you like prior to showing you clients.  All that I ask is that you let them know that this is a new process and we are not sure what all file types we can handle yet.  I'd be more then happy to check the file out before the client commits to anything.

Please definitely send me links of what you have done with the panos.  I love to see peoples interpretations. 

VT360, to answer your question I'm using 3D Studio Max 9.  Thanks!


EQUIPMENT: NIKON D80 CAMERA, AGNOS MROTATOR TCPS W/ RING, Sigma F/3.5 8mm Fisheye Lens
ITDVDS.COM
"Online Training For I.T. Professionals"
www.itdvds.com