panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-03-28
Send Msg:
Posts: 33
2007-07-07
#1

Canon CR2 images

Am I missing something? I am trying to open up Canon CR2 RAW images into Photoshop as I have done previously using Nikon and all I get is a message saying the image is not the right sort of format. If I use the software that came with the camera it wants to process the images before I can open them up in Photoshop - What's the way round that? Can anyone enlighten me?


Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-03-28
Send Msg:
Posts: 33
2007-07-12
#2

Thanks guys - works fine now with 3.7

 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 141
2007-07-08
#3

Can only assume your Adobe Camera Raw file pre-dates the camera body and you just need to download a more recent version of ACR from Adobe.com.

Simon


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-07-08
#4

Hmm depends on what Canon camera model,  Version of Photoshop, Version of Adobe Camera Raw.

Photoshop 7  Adobe Camera Raw not available

Photoshop CS  Earlier versions of ACR

Photoshop CS2  ACR 3.7  Canon Rebel XT (350d), Canon 20d, Canon 5d

Photoshop CS3 ACR 4.0/4.1 Canon Rebel XT (350d), Canon 20d, Canon 5d

Here is a list of ACR's and DNG Converters

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/product.jsp?product=106&platform=Windows


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-03-28
Send Msg:
Posts: 33
2007-07-08
#5
So, does that mean for the Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D) you need raw converter version 4 which is only compatible with CS3?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-07-08
#6

Here is the ACR 4.0 readme that shows the first entry for the 350d and 400d Camera list.  These 2 cameras were not on the ACR 3.7 camera list.

http://www.adobe.com/special/photoshop/camera_raw/Camera_Raw_4.0_ReadMe.pdf

Appears that you are correct.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2007-07-08
#7

The correct version of Camera Raw for the Rebel XTi/400D and Photoshop CS2 is Adobe Camera Raw 3.7

The Camera Raw.8bi file should be placed in the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CS2\File Formats Directory/Folder (assuming you have Photoshop installed in the "Default" directory on your C drive)

All versions after 3.7 are to be used with Photoshop CS3

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-07-08
#8

We have the 350d and it worked with 3.7 and CS2.  However, the 350d did not show up in Adobes list until ACR 4.0.  Go figure.

Smooth, do you know someone that has the 400d? and checked its .cr2 with CS2 with ACR3.7?

 

I also learned few days ago that ACR 4.0 and 4.1 works with Elements 4 and 5.  Only issue is that alot of the ACR features were disabled... like the LENS Color Abberation correction as well as batch correction.

 


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2007-07-09
#9
Quote: Originally posted by 360texas on July-08-2007

Smooth, do you know someone that has the 400d? and checked its .cr2 with CS2 with ACR3.7?


Yup, Susz.

I walked her through it last night and had a 400D/Rebel Xti .cr2 image sent to me to confirm. ACR 3.7 is correct with Photoshop CS2.

Regards, Smooth