panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-03-01
Send Msg:
Posts: 46
2008-07-03
#1

Finished a tour- but what next?

Just finished a tour I did below deck on a boat today. Wanted to send it to the owner but after clicking "Publish" the folder that was saved is 7.4Mb. I cannot post to a website so how do I email it to the boat owner so he can view on his computer?

This is by far from a perfect tour. I just want to see what it could look like and it was all done for fun.


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-08-13
Send Msg:
Posts: 193
2008-07-04
#2
You could burn it to a CD, and get that to him. If you can't post to the web, what are you going do with the finished tour?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-03-01
Send Msg:
Posts: 46
2008-07-04
#3
My website is currently under construction.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-08-13
Send Msg:
Posts: 193
2008-07-04
#4

Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 111
2008-07-04
#5

Hi Peanut.

As long as you have a hosting company for your domain you can upload your tour to it to test.  I use filezilla (freeware) with no problems.  I also do not have a website yet but I will soon.  I have been testing tours online for months thou.

You can just uplload the entire  flashvr folder to the /html folder.  Just make sure you save it in the /html folder and test the link to the tour page that TW 3 makes.  ex.  www . yourdomain.com/_flashvr/tourweaver_filename.html . I am not sure on the exact file name because I have pro edition and changed it to my company name ut I think the default is /tourweaver_XXXX.html 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-08-13
Send Msg:
Posts: 193
2008-07-04
#6
DaMan, not sure I understand, you use filezilla to ftp the tour to your web site? Why don't you use the "publish" feature in TW? I use TW1.25, is TW3 different?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 111
2008-07-04
#7

Yes, TW3 does not have the FTP function.  I am not sure why they removed it but they did . :)

 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-07-04
#8
I had a very long email conversation with them about removing the FTP function when I purchased TW3. They said they had received to many complaints about problems users were having with it so they removed it instead of fixing the problems.
When you click on publish you should be able to direct the files to your FTP in the "Output Destination:" box. That should send it to the FTP so you can then publish from your FTP.
Hope this helps, anyway that's how I publish.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-03-01
Send Msg:
Posts: 46
2008-07-04
#9

OK, you all have me completely lost!!

I "Published" the tour in Panoweaver and that created a folder in which there were 3 additional folders with the flash etc. files.

I opened Tourweaver (for the first time) and could not even figure how to bring my Panoweaver tour into it. Maybe I don't do that? I am sure I am doing everything wrong but in words of one syllable - what should I do to get this tour viewable on my website still under construction? Or to be able to email a link? 

What does FTP mean, I am ebarrassed to ask? Remember you are talking to a 3 year old child!!


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-08-13
Send Msg:
Posts: 193
2008-07-04
#10
FTP = File Transfer Protocol


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_Transfer_Protocol

It's how computers transfer data. In TW 1.25 the publish page had a "publish to the web" option, and you could designate the folder you wanted the tour to go to. like on you computer, instead of
Peanuts Computer > c dive > My Company > Tours > Johns House of pancakes tour

You would have

ftp:peanutswebsite.com/tours/JohnsHouseOfPancakesTour

Call your web host and tell them you want to set up FTP, and you don't know how to do it. If they are worth a nything, they will walk you through it. You will need a user name and password to log on. Once they have you set up, (if you are using a PC) go to the start menu and click "my network places" then "add new location." Most of the menus from then are pretty straight forward, but it is a Windows system, so be prepared to spend a little time figuring out what the questions mean.

Once the ftp site is set up, it will appear in "my network places", click on it, and (most likely) Internet Explore (IE) will launch. under "File" chose "log on as" enter your user name and password, I click "remember me", and, 'Bob's your uncle' (it's an obscure joke kids, go ask your folks) you have a ftp site.

You may be able to "drag and drop" files like you do when moving things around on you computer, but IIRC, the files must be zipped first. Google "ftp clients" for a list of applications that can help get files off your computer on to your ftp sight.

I'm out of coffee, so ta for now.

Vince

ETA: your computer is very tolerant of spaces in file names, ftp sites not so much. so instead of

Johns House Of Pancakes Tour

It should be

JohnsHouseOfPanckesTour

or


Johns_House_Of_Pancakes_Tour
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-07-04
#11

Sorry Peanut, I thought you were talking about publishing from Tourweaver 3.0.

The other question was how to get the pano into tourweaver........ 

In Panoweaver click on the "Save panoramic image" button and save it then you can import into tourweaver.

In Tourweaver on the right hand side under "list" click on the add button and click on the type of image you want to import and then locate the image and load it.


Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!