panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-01-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2004-01-13
#32
No matter what I do I cannot get Panoweaver to work with this equipment.  But, if I take the same exact files and run them through 3D Vista I get good looking panos.  Perhaps there's a problem with Panoweaver??
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-04-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 108
2004-01-14
#33

NJGary, would you please share us the stitched image with 3DVista?


To see is to believe
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2004-01-14
#34

Yes, I too would like to see the finished result from 3DVista using those images you posted for download.

Phoenix, I don't believe you can do a 360x180 panorama with only 4 shots from a 300D or 10D camera with a Sigma 8mm lens. But I would love you to prove me wrong. 

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-01-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2004-01-14
#35

Seaman,

You can see the 3D Vista pano at www.garykmeyer.com/3D Pano.jpg

And if you want to see the original 3 hemishpere images, you can see them at

www.garykmeyer.com/Test 001.jpg

www.garykmeyer.com/Test 002.jpg

www.garykmeyer.com/Test 003.jpg

Any help you can offer would be appreciated.

Gary


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2004-01-14
#36

Gary,

Although you have had marginal success with 3DVista stitching these images you have supplied for download. You simply will not have a successful 360x180 spherical panorama until such time as you position your camera on your tripod correctly. The nodal point is most critical when using Panoweaver or 3DVista software. I stitched your images with both these programs and got very similar results. I then manually stitched them and the result were much better but are never going to produce a 360x180.

By simply finding the nodal point of your camera & lens set up you will be well on your way of getting major success from panoweaver and 3Dvista.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-01-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2004-01-14
#37

Smooth,

Thanks, I understand that, but I just cannot find the nodal point.  Perhaps I'm retarded.  I've tried just about every position possible without any better results.  Nothing seems to work!

Gary


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2004-01-14
#38

Gary,

OK, I must admit I'm basing all of my comments on the fact that the Canon 1Ds and Sigma 8mm Fisheye lens can in fact produce a set images that can be stitched with Panoweaver. This I base on what Easypano have stated on the website. As I have never been sent a set of images taken with this combination before and I'm not rich enough to go out and buy this set up without first knowing that it is 100% successful combination.

The nodal point can be tricky to find. But I know from personal experience that that the nodal point is pretty much in line with the gold ring near the face of the Sigma lens using a Canon 10D Sigma lens combination.

Hope this helps, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-01-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2004-01-14
#39
Thanks, but I've tried just about every position around the gold ring.  No luck!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 959
2004-01-14
#40
Gary, have a word with the guys on the Panotools forum under Yahoo groups. There are a few guys there who use ur setup and will therefore be able to offer help with the nodalpoint. If they don't know... nobody will.
If I only had an hour to chop down a tree... I'd spend 45 mins sharpening the axe.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-01-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2004-01-14
#41

Smooth,

You were way off.  I e-mailed Sigma and the nodal point is 8mm forward of the film plane.  Now, I just have to figure out how to rotate the camera around that point!

Gary