panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-06-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5
2009-06-23
#1

'Failed to open file' message

I have been running into several problems while using panoweaver. The first being that when I stitch the image together and I go to save, it says 'failed to open file. Can not find the file' making it so that I can not save my work. I don't understand what is causing this message because I have gotten it to work successfully in the past and I am doing nothing different. I am using about 70 images taken with a regular lens with the camera mounted on a tripod. If I re size the images it will save as it should but this sacrifices quality of the detail in my image. I got a successful image out of panoweaver when I was using the trial version but now, using the pro version the same scene produces the 'failed to open file' message

the second issue that I am having is with distortion and alignment. I know that using a camera with a regular lens mounted on a tripod isn't exactly the best way to go about getting a 360 degree image but I feel like panoweaver should still do a better job then it has. I have been moving the camera in very small increments but I am still getting a choppy distorted image in places were there is a seam between two pictures.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-06-23
#2

Sounds like a memory issue.

  • What are the image sizes?
  • How many in the set?
  • What have you selected the output size to be?
  • Are you using a panohead?
  • Have you found the "correct" NPP No Parallax Point?

You need to provide more information so we can take a stab and finding your problem and thus, a possible solution.

Regards, Smooth

 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-06-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5
2009-06-23
#3
The image size is about 4.50MB.

There are 71 picture in the set.

I don't know. I can't find that as an option.

I am not using a panohead but the tripod I am using rotates and has degree measurements on it so I feel like it's essentially the same thing.

I'm not entirely sure what your asking, so probably no.

thanks
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-06-23
#4

I suggest first of all that you attempt to stitch a limited amount of images. Say 6 in total and see if you get a result.

Really if you are serious about panorama making you most definitely require a panohead so that you can rotate around the NPP. Of course the position of the NPP must first be set to match your camera/lens combination. Without a panohead set up correctly your success will be limited at best. You would most likely have success with stitching images that are landscapes where things are far off in the distance, but the closer the objects become the more the parallax will come into effect.

Let us know how you get on stitching a smaller amount of images (partial panorama).

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-06-23
#5
Quote: Originally posted by CJLang on June-23-2009
I am not using a panohead but the tripod I am using rotates and has degree measurements on it so I feel like it's essentially the same thing.


I can assure you it is not. The NPP is a set point of a lens known as the Entrance Pupil and this is the point you must rotate around to avoid parallax. (for a long time mistakenly called the Nodal Point)

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-06-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5
2009-06-23
#6
So, I tried it with just 6 images and it worked fine. Then I added some more and it worked fine. When I got to 43 images it stopped stitching at 70% and I was unable to save.

unfortunately the panoramas I'm interested in making are mostly of hallways. I will look into getting a panohead. If/when I do how can I make sure the position of the NPP is set to match the camera/lens combination? I have messed around with a panohead before but the issue I had with it was that it did not allow me to pivot vertically to include more of the floor and ceiling. Must this just be a fault of this particular panohead?


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-06-23
#7

OK, so it appears you are hitting your memory limits. What is your computer specs? Amount of RAM etc?

Panoheads are available with and without the ability to tilt. You need to use the correct version. The NPP will be worked out using known methods.

Useful starting points can be offered once we know what camera body and lens you are using.

Look to these links for more on setting/finding the No Parallax Point

These three tutorials should see you sort the NPP out if you follow them correctly.

Once I know your equipment I can advise better on what panohead is best suited for your requirements. 71 shots is a lot of images. You might be better off with a wider lens like a Wide Angle or Fisheye depending on what you plan to use the final stitched image.

I.E: A fisheye can cover a full 360x180 with as little as 3 to 8 shots on a DSLR.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-06-24
#8
Quote: Originally posted by CJLang on June-23-2009
I have been moving the camera in very small increments but I am still getting a choppy distorted image in places were there is a seam between two pictures.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

You also need to be careful of too much overlap 20 to 30% is recommended, more than this will confuse the stitcher. So you must rotate around the NPP and shoot so that you have optimal overlap between images.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-06-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5
2009-06-29
#9
So, I got a panohead. Got a great image but when I go to stitch it It stops at 70% and stays their. Eventually the progress box will go away and it will pretend that it successfully stitched the images and the save button is lit up. However, when I go to save the image it says failed to open file. I am using 45 images at about 1.5 MB each.

Also, I got a circular fish eye and when I use that to stitch the pano I just get a ridiculous image with circular warp points and all kinds of crazy distortion. This doesn't make since to me because the images I am using to make the pano are really good fish eye images taken with a panohead. There wasn't excessive over lapping and more often then not panoweaver failed to recognize any matching points between images.

Next, when I do finally get a good image out of panoweaver and put it into tourweaver and click the preview button, all I get is a black screen. It is possible to re size the image but that sacrifices quality. The image size I am using is 13.2MB

thanks for the help this far.
CJ

Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-06-30
#10

OK, so you got a panohead - great!

  • What did you buy?
  • What camera and what lens are you using?
  • What lens are you using for the 45 images?
  • What Fisheye lens did you buy?
  • Have you found the NPP? Really?

You still haven't told us what computer equipment you are running

  • What is your CPU?
  • How much RAM do you have?

Sometimes you cannot get matching control points between images because

  • The images lack information (lack of definable objects or repetitive objects that confuse)
  • Poorly exposed images (too bright or too dark)
  • Or not enough overlap

The no show in Tourweaver preview window could be

  • Under powered computer CPU and/or RAM
  • Graphics card under powered and not up to the job or incompatible
  • Too many programs running at the one time (programs running in the background)
  • The latest version of Flash browser plug-in is not installed correctly
  • Program install is corrupted 

Unfortunately you will have to work through these things to find the answer. Some things you mention will be easier to answer once you have supplied more information. As it stands, all I can offer is an educated guess.

Regards, Smooth [8D]


Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-06-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5
2009-06-30
#11
The panohead is a manfrotto
The camera is a Leica
For the 45 images I just used the standard lens on the camera. 35 mm
The fish eye lens is 58mm super fisheye .25X
And I'm pretty sure I have found the NPP point because when the 45 images with the regular lens pre stitched I got a nice panorama with very little errors

the CPU is Intel core2 duo
RAM is 3.25GB of

The lack of definable objects should not have been a problem in the scene I was shooting. This only happened when I used the fisheye lens. The images also did not have any exposure problems and the overlap was fine. I thought I had to much so I re-shot the images with 3 different over lap and still got a crazy warped image.

Given the information now, do you think the CPU/RAM is under powered?
The Graphics card is still a possibility.
As for too many programs, I don't think this was the reason, but I will keep it in mind for next time.
If I don't have the latest version of Flash wouldn't that mean that it would always result in a black screen instead of working with smaller images? same with the program install being corrupt. Would that result in only working with smaller images?

Thank you for being patient with me! :)