panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-09-30
#1

Raynox DCR187 / G10 /Help

Hello:

Canon G10 with Raynox Conv Lens DCR-CF187PRO

I ve been taking some shots, and I am confuse, in which camera settings to use.

I v been shoting in Auto Mode...

I found that shoting with flash, brings shadows, and dark images, at first I thought that the LA-DC58k was obstructing the light, After this I turned the flash off, and the pictures were shot lighter, but I think they look a little noisy.

What would happen if I try to shot at night? I ve seen some great panos shoted at night.... How do they do this?

Can anyone help me please, with th camera settings, Auto Mode, Iso ...I dont know what is the best settings

here is a link of the images, shoted, and explaining what happened on each image.

http://www.alvarezinmobiliaria.com/fotosm/CANON_RAYNOX.htm

thank you


Regards, Sal
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-09-30
#2
Sal,

Panoramas are not shot with a flash as a general rule and if they are the tiny little thing in the camera is not the flash that is used. Fact is, I and most professional panorama photographers do not use a flash.

When shooting "nothing" can be in auto mode.

       : The camera should be in (M) manual mode.
       : Set the ISO as low as possible. ISO 100 or 50 whatever is the lowest.
       : Set the (WB) White Balance to match the scene. Daylight, Tungsten, Fluro etc.
       : Set the Aperture to F8 for now until you progress.
       : Set the Shutter Speed to match the internal light meter (it is the centre position) -2ev|---|---|+2ev

The metering should be taken at the most evenly lit area of the scene (not the brightest nor the darkest). Once you have made the metering decision you maintain this setting and all others for the whole panoramic set of images.

Panoramas shot at night do not need any flash just longer shutter time to allow enough light in.

You can't expect to shoot a decent panorama until you understand how to drive the camera in manual mode correctly. Read the owners manual and learn as much as you can.

Do not zoom in, you want 3 full circular (round) images for stitching. You can zoom only until the full circle is still visible. (more advance settings and zooming can be covered later).

Upload some untampered RAW images straight from the camera and I will take a look.

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-09-30
#3
ok, Smooth , Thank you
Regards, Sal
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-09-30
#4

Smooth:

 

In PTgui. when I load images,

At Camera / lens parameters

Should I select "Circular"

Hor. Field of View  "49.16" this is number appears selecting "circular"

Is it ok


Regards, Sal
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-09-30
#5
Yes, it is circular.

Please upload an image so I may see and test the settings.

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-09-30
#6

Ok, Smooth

These are 3 pics:

what I dont understand is why, when I uploaded to PTgui, doesnt detect automatically de lens parameters, I also crop the images. and when I try to create the panorama it only shows one of the pics, it doesnt blend.

At the bottom of the link , there is a pic of PTgui creation

link:

http://www.alvarezinmobiliaria.com/pictures_.htm

 

 

Thank you


Regards, Sal
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-09-30
#7
Sal,

The NPP is out quite a lot. The images are not shot properly they need to be all the same shutter speed and aperture at least.

You will not get "auto" detection from the EXIF data because it is a converter lens the FOV will be approx 180 degrees and it is Circular.

You may need to shoot 4 around 1 every 90 degrees until we can lock down what the real FOV is on the Canon and until you actually have the right NPP set.

Panoweaver 5 did stitch the images but the projection was strange. I haven't yet tried with Panoweaver 6.0

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-09-30
#8

ok,

Thank you Smooth, I tried with Panoweaver 6, and it did stitch the images and the projection  was strange too.

I ve set my Camera to Manual Mode 

Just didnt understand a few things:

whats -2ev |---|---|+2ev  (is  it the MF?)

here is a link with my camera settings and my NN180 installation, dont know if its ok.....

I ve doing some shoots , with the Manual Mode, with the settings I have in the picture.

I see that if I hold the camera, the shoot does get like moved, does it should be steady always???  I think I have to use a 10 sec timer..

By other side, The WB, must be changing according to the type of day, outdoor, indoor, Now I am inside my room, I set it to "fluorescent".. So I think I cant save the settings then.

here is the link:

http://www.alvarezinmobiliaria.com/settings.htm


Regards, Sal
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-09-30
#9

Smooth:

I set my G10 like this: Please tell me if I am right.....

I finally found how to set the Exposure Compesation Dial  , I set it to "0" (-2ev |---|---|+2ev  )....

In the pict that is on the url , there is a number  4"(with an arrow, pointing down) is it that ok  ???

Dont know how to set the MF.....

there are picts of the NN180 installation, do you think it is ok?


Regards, Sal
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-10-01
#10
Quote: Originally posted by salvador on September-30-2009
I finally found how to set the Exposure Compesation Dial , I set it to "0" (-2ev |---|---|+2ev )....

In the pict that is on the url , there is a number 4"(with an arrow, pointing down) is it that ok ???



Yes, this is right for setting the exposure.
Remember though this setting will change in different light. The 4" = 4 second Exposure.

BUT! You do not have your NN180 set up anywhere near correctly. The T20 or T30 goes onto the bottom of the "G10 Camera" the standard camera plate is not used. The T20/30 replaces it. The NN180 screws directly to the tripod. The Raynox lens glass would be pretty much over the bubble level of the NN180.

(MF) = Manual Focus and this will be covered in the G10 user manual.

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-08-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-10-01
#11

ok,

I think I ve installed now correctly the NN 180.

http://www.alvarezinmobiliaria.com/sal.htm

  Is there a number in the rotator arm, where should I place the t -adapter to rotate by 120.... Finally I am shooting RAW, manual mode, and I think I am doing ok... but Im still having too much trouble with PTgui,. .....

PTGui now automatically detect "circular" and "Hor field of view" 180.... but it doesnt blend nothing,  here are two, 180 degree shoots

http://www.alvarezinmobiliaria.com/image.jpg

 


Regards, Sal