panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-03
#12
Just as a matter of interest: I added a wireless remote to the wired Promote and it works like a charm. The wireless remote triggers the Promote to do what you have instructed the promote to do! That way you never touch the camera (or any connecting items) thus avoiding and camera shake/movement.

Excellent

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-11-03
#13
I just ordered the promote and cable for Canon. I was getting concerned I would not get anything for my sigma 8mm EOS lens. Not a hot item unless you looking for one. They have gone up 200 bux since I bought the last one. So I just cancelled all the nikon stuff and bit the bullet on some shipping but that is small change. I am interested in this remote. Is it made by promote or another manufacture?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-11-03
#14
I ment to ask I am interested in the wireless feature in that last sentence above.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-03
#15
What you need is any brand wireless remote with the (C6) connector.

This is perfect and cheap.

There is also a Cleon II with more features but the Cleon I does the job fine.

You plug the C6 cable into the Promote and the Promote into the camera remote connection. Just so happens the Canon 450D, 500D XTi, XSi, T1i Rebel etc have the same 2.5mm mini plug as the Promote.

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-11-03
#16

I miss phrased my question above. What wireless unit will work with the promote?

Thanks for info.


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-03
#17
Quote: Originally posted by randalltomes on November-03-2009

I miss phrased my question above. What wireless unit will work with the promote?

Thanks for info.




As above!

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-11-03
#18
It dosn't say that is for Canon 40D. The one for canon 40D is c8 on c6. Not sure if that works or not?
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-11-03
#19
No, it must be for the Canon 450D, 500D XTi, XSi, T1i Rebel so you MUST get the (C6) cable. Remember you are connecting it to the Promote not the Camera. It's just so happens the Canon 450D, 500D XTi, XSi, T1i Rebel have the same connection as the Promote. The cables you ordered with your Promote connect to your Canon 40D (they will be the C8 style).

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-11-03
#20

So the wireless will not work with the promote unless the wireless uses and c8 cable?

Here is a posting from another hdr blog. I am not sure if one of these will work:

 

try to get your hands on a remote cable with a 2.5mm jack, like for canon rebel etc - it will fit the promotes remote port - or get one of these for wireless operation -

http://martybugs.net/blog/blog.cgi/gear/PhottixCleonIIWirelessRemote.html

http://martybugs.net/blog/blog.cgi/gear/PhottixPlatoWirelessRemote.html

both available here - "C6" is the 2.5mm cable - http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Hong-Kong-Supplies__W0QQ_armrsZ1


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2009-11-03
#21
The wireless is nice but not required as long as the promote will work with a timer. That gives me time to jump out of shots where there is a room with many mirrors and plus you can be sure your not moving the camera or tripod. Will it work on a timer?