panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-02-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 8
2010-02-08
#1

QTVR Seam Problem

Hi guys, Panoweaver works great, but I get these weird seams in my QTVR file... they don't show up in the preview, or the flash or the player. What gives? Any input?

The Problem QTVR

Jpeg of the problem
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2010-02-09
#2

Seems like that is a seam corner of the bottom cube face.

did you convert the original equirectangular image to cube faces and then correct the nadir ?  You perhaps inavertantly changed the bottom cube face dimension ? 

Check the bottom cube face dimensions to make sure that it is exactly the same pixel size width/height as the other 5 cube face images.. then convert it back to a full equirectangular image.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-02-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 8
2010-02-09
#3
Hmmmmmm... this sounds very different than the process i am using. We shot fully spherical images (180) and stitched them together. The confusing part is that the flash and standalone viewer both project the images perfectly, no seams anywhere. It's like QT is introducing some kind of error... perhaps i need to do a little more research toward how these should be produced. Here are the source files and the resulting panoramic:

848 Panoramic

848 Sources

325 Panoramic

325 Spherical sources
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-02-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 8
2010-02-09
#4
....and I've forwarded my working files to the Help desk to see if they can assist me with a resolution... If I'm doing something wrong I absolutely cannot figure out what it is...


Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-05-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 94
2010-02-09
#5

Hello

This is a bug of Panoweaver 6.00 for mac edition, our programmers are working on this issue. This issue will not happen on Windows, which seems only happenning on Mac OS 10.4.1.


Easypano
The Virtual Tour Way
Email:support@easypano.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-02-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 8
2010-02-10
#6
OY! Thanks... this causes me more than a little consternation....

So, now I downloaded the demo for the PC and imported my stitched panoramic image from the mac but on publishing I get an error message:

#202020012 Publishing failed. Quicktime Player may not be installed.

QT IS installed.. latest version (7.6.5) BUT, it is not QT pro... I have QT pro on my mac, is that a problem?


Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-02-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 8
2010-02-10
#7
aaaaaaaaaaaaand.... it's not related to Mac OS 10.4.1 exclusively... I also tried exporting it on my iMac (10.5.8) and it also has the line around the cube base.

Help help help.

Just so you have some history, because I'm now in a tight spot. I was asked to compare and test various stitching softwre and to recommend a purchase. It came down to PanoWeaver and Autodesks Stitcher. PanoWeaver won because it had SUPERIOR stitching ability and ease of use, though Stitcher was favored for it's lower cost, larger developer house and great looking exports (I would stitch in the trial version of panoweaver and export from Autodesk).
But, I could only affort one and I talked management into spending MORE on what I perceived to be a superior product.

Help guys, and fast. I have a multi-million dollar client staring down the barrel here and I'm beginning to feel like I am going to fail unless I pony up for a second package to export these beautiful Panoramics into the QT format!


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2010-02-10
#8
Quicktime VR is dead.
It is NOT supported for viewing on any 64 Bit Operating system and Apple have stated it is no longer. We are talking QTVR here not Quicktime.

Forget QTVR, the now is Flash and the future is HTML5.

Regards, Smooth
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-02-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 8
2010-02-11
#9
Okay, awesome, smooth... can I quote that line to my client? They want a Quicktime holder, It's a problem I have to solve.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-02-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 8
2010-02-11
#10
I was told that if i can export this on the PC that I won't run into the problem, but when I try to export QTVR via Panoweaver on a Windows box, I get an error message stating that Quicktime does not appear to be installed.

The latest version running merrily though.

Any ideas? Do I need to upgrade to pro?

Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2010-02-11
#11
Quote: Originally posted by studiomiguel on February-11-2010
Okay, awesome, smooth... can I quote that line to my client?

If you like! It will be the smartest piece of advise they will receive. It's dead, redundant, finished. You give them this and it will reflect back on you in the end.

..... and NO upgrading the QT Pro won't do anything that the standard version offers as far as the Panoweaver publishing is concerned.

Regards, Smooth