panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-02-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 27
2005-03-16
#1

Preview not appearing

Hi

I'm just new to working with Tourweaver and am using the demo version. I've compiled a few scenes no audio or anything else.
Problem is when I come to preview the tour my computer waits with the Easypano logo and progress bar. But the progress bar gets to about 85% and just stops. As I write it has been like this for 10 minutes.
I'm using a PC with a 2.8gh Celeron, 256mb ram and 20gb hard disk and WIndows 2000 Prof, so there should be no problems harware wise.
This is really disappointing as I use Panoweaver and Tourweaver seems to be able to give the resultant tour I need.

Ideas please?

Graeme.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-03-16
#2

Sounds like the old encryption issue or could be a java issue.

What version of Java do you have installed Graeme?

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-02-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 27
2005-03-16
#3
ment to say it is

Java 2 Runtime, SE v1.4.1_02.

Not sure if this was installed with Panoweaver or TourWeaver.

Should I update

Thanks
GRaeme
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-03-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 1
2005-03-16
#4
I had that problem too... I resized it down and it worked.
Dave
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-02-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 27
2005-03-17
#5
What did you resize?
My tour consists of only three scenes saved as JPG files. I can't get it any smaller. The resolution might be something elsee tho. They were saved from Panoweaver Standard Edition 3.01 as Web Broadband files
The same problem occurs on other computers.

Futher help required!

Thanks
Graeme
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-03-17
#6

Image size (Dimensions) need not exceed 1400 x 700 for the size window that Tourweaver generates as standard.

At 1400 x 700 the file size of each panorama should not be bigger then 500kb each. Typically 1400 x 700 I keep the files under 250kb in size.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 959
2005-03-17
#7

TW tours shouldn't be larger then 300x400 viewer window.

However, it sounds more like 1 of 2 posible problems.

  • Are you useing non english letters or signs in any of ur file names eg ??ü?? If so don't as this will cause the tour not to work.
  • Also only use ariel or verdana as text for the text used for tours

Check this first and let us know.


If I only had an hour to chop down a tree... I'd spend 45 mins sharpening the axe.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-03-17
Send Msg:
Posts: 1
2005-03-17
#8

Phoenixrising,

Why shouldn't tours have a window larger than 300x400?

I have tours with larger windows, for example http://www.nolaskogs.se/index_skeppsmalen.shtm , but I am not aware of any particular problems execpt that you need a fast connection, of course. It would be interesting to know if somebody have  problems with this tour.


Jakob Norstedt-Moberg
Fotoverkstan
http://www.fotoverkstan.se
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-02-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 27
2005-03-17
#9
OK.

Jakob - no problems with your tour indicated above.

The ones i've created are 2000*1000 - so I will reduce them as Smooth has said and see what haappens. Will report back tomorrow.

One further question.
Is there some correlation/link between image size and window size as far as quality goes. In other words do images have to be bigger than the viewing window. I think I saw something like this in another forum or thread somewhere, don't know where as I visit several and read most posts. This internet community is a great source of info and encouragement.

Thanks
Graeme
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-03-18
#10

A good starting point is 2 1/2 times in height the viewer window height.

So 300 tall window = 750, 600 tall = 1500 etc.

This allows for reasonable zoom. One other thing to consider is that computers work x 8 so if you can multiply or divide by 8 (the number) then "supposedly" things will run better. Is it true? Who knows!

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-01-16
Send Msg:
Posts: 959
2005-03-18
#11

Hi there Jakob,

the main reason is that I've experienced less then fluid motion when images reach a size much beyond 300x400. I tried to look at your tours from my laptop centrino 1.5 and had some problems with fluid motion. Not all PC's have good grafic cards and java tends to be a little weak with larger images as they suck up system resources. Thats why many then chose QuickTime.

I know that some other/newer PT viewers are more able to cope with this.


If I only had an hour to chop down a tree... I'd spend 45 mins sharpening the axe.