panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-13
Send Msg:
Posts: 20
2005-12-15
#32

Ok Guys,

Thanks for all the great info I got the full pano to work! But I need to ask yet another guestion.

Can someone help me with the code for a Close window button on the full screen pano?


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-09-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2005-12-15
#33
Hi,
I got the fullwin script to work. Should I be able to completely remove all browser extras besides the QT movie? On my fullscreen it still shows the status bar and the very top blue bar which has the name of the page on it. I tried putting status=no, but it still shows it. I also put scrollbars=no, and the scrollbars aren't there but the space for them is still there.

If I use the PopupMe script how exactly do I write that? Is it javascript:Popupme_http://mywebsite/mine.html()? Is this the way the HREF should read? I tried it this way, but nothing happened, so I figure I am not typing it correctly. What does the _ signify? Like Jorge, I just want a window with nothing but the QT and a close window link.

Thanks.
Kevin
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-12-16
#34

Jeez, you don't want much for nothing!

Here is the javascript to close a window by text hyperlink and also image hyperlink.

<a title="javascript:self.close()">Close Window</a> Text Close

<a title="javascript:self.close()"><img src="closewindow.gif"></a> Image Close

Using Wise Pop-Up you will get two pieces of code.

  • One that goes in the head of the page between the <head></head> tags
  • The other (the hyperlink) goes in the body of the page between the <body></body> tags.

You place all the code Wise Pop-Up generates into the head of the .html page as normal.

You need to modify the code that Wise Pop-Up generates for the body "hyperlink" from this <a title="javascript:PopupMe_your_page_name()">Click this link</a> to this javascript:PopupMe_your_page_name() to place into your Tourweaver tour.

Using Wise Pop-Up you select "Fullscreen" on the "Settings" tab by ticking the box named "Fullscreen"

These scripts are for intelligent browsers like Internet Explorer. Flakey results come with flakey dumb browsers like Firefox and Opera. Though mostly work as expected.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-13
Send Msg:
Posts: 20
2005-12-16
#35

Hi Smooth.

Thanks for all your information and all others that contribute to this forum!

Again I THANK YOU ALL I only wish as I gain much knowledge and

experience I can give back.

Best Regards

Jorge


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-09-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2005-12-16
#36
Smooth,
I thank you very much for all of your help! I have Wise Pop-Up and I also found the code for closing a fullscreen window by searching on the web.

My question was specifically what to type in on the HREF of Tourweaver. I know where to put the code in the HTML page, and what the code is since Wise Pop-up supplies it. Wise Popup just has the code javascript:PopupMe(). It doesn't say to put in your page name? That is where my confusion was, if I put in my page name do I put it in parentheses, or do I have to put _ before I type it. I realize this is an extremely ignorant question, but javascript is very sensitive to how you type something. As I am a complete novice in javascript I tend to take everything said to me completely literally!

I typed in javascript:PopupMe() in the HREF section of Tourweaver, and then the supplied PopupMe code in the Head section of the HTML page. The page comes up fullscreen, except for the Status bar at the bottom, the uppermost blue bar at the very top of the screen, and some blank strips on either side of the screen where the scrollbars should be.

I started to think that maybe my settings in IE were causing this? I use Firefox and IE, but I always test everything in IE, as I figure the majority of people still use this browser. I went into the tools menu, internet option, and security tab. I enabled script-initiated size and positioning of the window. This then took away the status bar at the bottom and the blue bar at the very top. The empty spots where the scrollbars were are still there, and the QT doesn't fill in the very bottom where the status bar was, but I am much closer to what I want.

This whole idea of having it 100% fullscreen came from www.panoramas.dk. After seeing the fullscreen panos on that site I wanted to do the same thing. It is interesting that after I have changed my settings in IE, the panos on that site don't completely take over my screen like they used to? I think I have been unrealistic in hoping I could find a way to completely take over the browser preferences and open a window exactly the way I want it. With all of the spyware and virus protection and firewall software I don't know if it is possible.

Again, thank you for all of your help. Sorry for the long post, but I wanted to share what I have learned. A lot of people must be interested in this as it has such a high number of views.

Regards,
Kevin
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-01-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 61
2005-12-16
#37
Hi Kevin
Cant help you much with the popupme scripting but try adding
<body leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
after the head, this should remove any margins on your page, so if your parameters "width and heigth" are set to 100% it will fill to the edge of the screen..
Try it and see if this helps.

mike (Gidg)
Home Page
VR blog


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-09-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2005-12-17
#38
Hi Mike,
Thanks for the help! That script gets rid of the margin on the left, but the one on the right is still there. I added rightmargin="0" to see if that would make any difference. The width is set to 100%.

In IE all the margins are gone except the right margin. In firefox the left and right margins are gone, but the windows taskbar at the bottom is visible, and the blue bar at the top. Plus there is a quicktime move icon that is broken at the top of the screen, and the controller (spincontrol) is not showing up. Some of the latest script Firefox must not like.

This brings up the question how many different browser programs do you check to see if your page works on? Do you check IE, Netscape, Firefox, and Opera? I have been checking IE and Firefox. It is very frustrating to have something work in one and not the other. I can only imagine that frustration is multiplied by checking two other programs? However, I don't want things to work on one browser and not on all the others.

Thanks.
Kevin
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-12-17
#39

Kevin,

I think you are missing the basic instructions within Wise Pop-Up

At the very top of the program whenever you click on an area within Wise Pop-Up it gives you instructions on what is required.

The first thing to do is to type in the exact URL of your fullscreen .mov

You can see here you must give the Function Name "an individual name" in this case I just named it PopupMe_tour_01. But you can call it whatever your like. Could be just tour001 for example. The choice is yours.

Same deal on the Popup Window Name

You then would choose to tick the Fullscreen check box (See clearly the instructions at the top of the Wise Pop-Up information bar)

Now we have progressed to the "Output" tab and you can see clearly the code to be copied between your <head></head> tags on the "Launching" .html page.

Now you see what would "normally" be placed in between the <body></body> tags on the same .html page. But in this case you wish to use the code within Tourweaver so we need to strip this down to javascript:PopupMe_tour_01() you can see how the _tour_01 part is relevant. This is so you can have more than one javascript hyperlink in one tour or one .html page. The next in this case I would call _tour_02 Again it can be called WHATEVER you name it. Such as tour001 or tour002 it doesn't need the PopupMe or the _ underscore. It is just a name reference to the matching <head> javascript code.

Clear as mud?

Test my Sample HERE

I will say the results can vary from browser to browser and the Windows Service Pack II is not so friendly to this javascript. I see if I use the "Preview" tab and button within Wise Pop-Up it works 100% everytime.

Regards,

Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2005-12-17
#40
Quote: Originally posted by Jorge on December-16-2005

Hi Smooth.

Thanks for all your information and all others that contribute to this forum!

Again I THANK YOU ALL I only wish as I gain much knowledge and

experience I can give back.

Best Regards

Jorge


Hi Jorge,

Thank you for the thank you. It is appreciated.

Most here help where they can and hopefully this is a reflection on the greater panorama community and Easypano itself.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-09-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 17
2005-12-17
#41
Smooth,
You really go above and beyond on descriptions! Thank you. I am only trying one popup, not multiple, that is why I haven't been doing it the way you describe above. I figure if I can't get one to work the way I want why bother with more?

Your example works perfectly in IE as long as I have enabled script-initiated size and position of windows in the security tab of internet options. I think the default setting in security is to not allow script-initiated size and positioning of the window. I have noticed as well that the preview in Wise Popup works perfectly, unfortunately that is not the case when it is the actual web page

I was thinking that Spincontrol was interfering with the script to allow a fullscreen window. Now I think that it is Security measures in windows SP2. My wife"s laptop used to have SP1. Phoenixrising's example worked perfectly. Now her computer has SP2 and his example doesn't get rid of the windows bar at the top or the status bar at the bottom.

I think that it might not be possible to have a script completley disable all of the security measures which restrict how a window opens. WisePopup gives me as close as I am going to get, I think.

I wanted to ask again: Do you check your work in multiple browsers, or just one?

Thank you again for all of the time and effort you have put into this!

Merry Christmas!
Kevin