panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 772
2006-03-14
#1

AutoRun Pro

Hi there

I'm not sure if this is the place for this but I thought I'd ask here anyway. I use Lontion's AutoRun Pro Enterprise edition. It allows me to make an almost Macromedia Director style front end with links to different tourweaver tours.

I'm about to release one for the PC tour market. Has anyone else used this for commercial publishing? Im terrified of producing something that works well on my comp and the ones I can test it on but fails on most of the others (and I mean ones within the system specs). Any hints or tips out there would be much appreciated!

Many thanks


sales@actualeducation.co.uk
www.actualeducation.co.uk
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 113
2006-03-14
#2
Does this Lontion's AutoRun allow you to include all the necessary tour files so that the viewer does not have to be on the Internet to view the tours?  I ask this question because I too use a similar program for the same purpose but am not having much success.  It does not work properly if I try to make the cd completely stand alone (which defeats the purpose of the presentation).  So, for now, the viewers must be connected to the Internet to view the presentation.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-04-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 382
2006-03-14
#3
Hi kropke,

I guess I don't follow.

I've been producing tours on CDs for a while now and they've all been standalones. One application is for the realtor to play the tour on CD during open houses with no Internet connection, wireless or wired.

r,
eagle
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 113
2006-03-15
#4

Eagle:  The software that I am using creates an electronic business card style presentation.  So, for example, if I want to provide the viewer with samples of my tours, presently, I have to link them to the tour on the Internet.  I can not get the software Autorun Max to properly include the necessary files on the cd so that the tour will run as a standalone.  If you are familiar with this software and have any suggestions, please let me know.  Or if you know of another software that can accomplish what I am looking to do, let me know

As always, thanks for any help you can offer.

 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 772
2006-03-15
#5

Hi there

Autorun lets you put eveything onto a cd. It does require Internet Explorer at the users end but it doesn not have to be connected to the net unless the person needs the java download.

Its a great programme  - yuo can even put a tour onto the disk, open it with Autorun and have it open on an IE area within a new Autorun page - getting rid of all the IE buttons that you dont need or want.

If I can work out how to post images on here I will stick up a couple of screen shots of the thing. Its a great piece of kit and worth its weight in gold but I have had a couple of people saying ' couldnt get it to work' which worries me - mind you, some of them arent the sharpest comp users out there (basic comp skills here).

F


sales@actualeducation.co.uk
www.actualeducation.co.uk
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-03-15
#6

Same rules apply the tours MUST placed in t a folder called "fscommand" and then liked to that directory. (you cannot call this directory anything else). It is as simple as that.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 113
2006-03-15
#7

To rfh12002, I like the program but have not been able to create a stand alone tour.  This includes trying to get tech support from the company itself.  Where do you put all the necessary files / folders so that they properly transfer when you burn the Autorun Max project to disc?

To Smooth:  If using a program such as Auto Run Max, where would you put this fscommand folder.  The Auto Run creates it's own folders.  Would I have to include it in one of them?

 


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-03-16
#8

Point me to a download of this program and I will take a look.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 113
2006-03-16
#9
Smooth:  Here is the website for Autorun Max http://www.autorunmax.com/site/download-autorun-max.php .  They offer a trial download.  Thank you so much for your help.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-03-16
#10
Quote: Originally posted by kropke on March-16-2006
Smooth:  Here is the website for Autorun Max http://www.autorunmax.com/site/download-autorun-max.php .  They offer a trial download.  Thank you so much for your help.

OK, wasn't too hard to figure out.

I assume you already have a project you have built? What you need to do is this:

  • Go to your project file (My Documents>Autorun MAX! Projects>You>Project Name>CD_Root>AutoPlay>Docs
  • Now in the "Docs" folder create another folder called "fscommand" (all lower case all one word)
  • Once you have created this folder, place your tour documents inside this folder. (as you would to the web)
  • Now, in the program interface you will use a button to launch the tour. So make your button and then go to the "action tab" and from the "dropdown" choose "Play Multimedia" and then browse to your "tour.html" file located within the fscommand directory/folder.
  • Save and then Publish
  • Burn your CD, test and be amazed

I made a quick test myself, burnt it and it worked perfectly!

Seems a nice little program. Anyone want to buy me a copy? LOL

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2006-03-16
#11

Interesting note:

It also works with the "Open Document" command.

Also because of the Autorun.exe you don't even need the fscommand folder. Simply place your tour docs into the docs folder and link to them with either the "Play Multimedia" command or "Open Document" command.

Too easy!

Regards, Smooth