panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-05-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 348
2007-02-07
#1

TW 2.0 Feature Request

Hi there

Have been playing around with TW 2.0 Beta and am missing one feature.

Creating panodepending externeal links.

Example:

Outside shot of a house. Text aere which discribs how the house is located in beautiful "West Whereever". I want no the chance to set a link (for that scene only) to the www.west-whatever.com.

Or if I have a scene of a bathroom i might want to link to the designer of the bath or the architect.

Anyone of you in the same need? If yes post here. Maybe EP will think about it and sneak the feature in.

OR

Maybe someone has a workaround for me to have external links scene depending.

Regars Markus


Nikon D70s, Sigma 8 mm, 4 to 12 shots, Agnos MrotatorTShort, PTGui, PS CS3, and lots of other software :-)
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-10-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 162
2007-02-07
#2
Hi,
use a hotspot on that scene and add the action link to the website

thierry
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-12-26
Send Msg:
Posts: 141
2007-02-07
#3
Good idea!

I would like to have this feature too. Making a hotspot in the scene is a workaround, but it is not in the same league, I think. Users who read the describing text are used to external links and would easily recognise it there. So this would be a nice feature to have regarding usebility.

Michael
http://www.premiumpano.de
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-05-24
Send Msg:
Posts: 133
2007-02-07
#4
If you are not using the map feature, you could use that.

Add a map (which could just be an image), then add a hotspot to the map and use actions to link to external url. The hotspot could be any image - so you could create a button or something with text on it and your map image could be the same color as your background. The effect would be a place on the skin that show as nothing. But the hotspot image would be visible. Connect each map to your scenes.

The result would be a map area that serves up a new image each pano and each of these images would have a hot spot with a different external link. Here is a sample I pulled together to illustrate:

Sample Tour

Just a suggestion!
--Kevin

http://www.webvisiontours.com/
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-05-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 348
2007-02-08
#5

@Kevin

That would be a work around if i would not be using the map, which unforutnaely I am.

Regards Markus


Nikon D70s, Sigma 8 mm, 4 to 12 shots, Agnos MrotatorTShort, PTGui, PS CS3, and lots of other software :-)
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-09-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 329
2007-02-08
#6

Hi, Markus!

It would be an interesting feature. Its challenging to find out how to resolve it. The map viewer (suggested by Kevin) is a good idea. Now you told us that you need to use a map as well. So why dont you copy the map and use every time a different copy of the same map and link it to the corresponding scene. Each time with a new/different hotspot that will link the user to the designers website for example. The hardest work will be to place the radar/hotspots of the location on each copy as close as possible to the original settings.

Regards, Martin


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-05-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 348
2007-02-08
#7

@mskp

That would actually be a working work around, but I don't date tho think about the amount of work to put in. grrrh.

I just hope EP is reading forum as well and listening - even if we are in beta

Regards Markus


Nikon D70s, Sigma 8 mm, 4 to 12 shots, Agnos MrotatorTShort, PTGui, PS CS3, and lots of other software :-)
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-05-24
Send Msg:
Posts: 133
2007-02-08
#8
Martin.

You said - The hardest work will be to place the radar/hotspots of the location on each copy as close as possible to the original settings.

In the Properties area you can place things by X and Y coordinates, so it is very easy to get the exact location for your hotspot.


--Kevin

http://www.webvisiontours.com/
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-09-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 329
2007-02-08
#9

Hi Kevin,

Yes youre right, that will make things much easier. At the time I feel that this will be the best way to fill the missing feature.

Regards, Martin


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-01-24
Send Msg:
Posts: 42
2007-02-10
#10

Markus,

We talked by livehuman the other day about the feature of adding actions to the text in the textarea so that the text can be a url link. Actually, I had submitted this request to our programmer, and they will consider adding this feature in the next upgrade.


Jenny
Easypano