panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-11-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 112
2007-02-09
#1

Still not loading fast enough

i have read the other post on loading ,but i must be doing something wrong. how can i get this tour to load in under 10 sec. someone told me to reduce the size of the first scene,waiting image, and skin (1st scene is 106kb /waiting image is 206kb and skin is 35.2kb)
i do have around 19 pano's in this tour ,but most of them are around 150kb. Do the panos load as the tour is going?(for example ,im looking at the first scene and the second scene is load in the background.
If someone could set me straight on this ,i would appreciate it very much.
Here is the Tour Link
http://www.lakeareavirtualtours.com/tours/Samples%20for%20web%20page/quick/Tourviewer_quick.html
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-12-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 24
2007-02-11
#2

I just downloaded the trial version of kissmyimage and it looks like it could be very convenient and useful. I only compressed about a dozen images then optimized the same images in Photoshop and found the quality to be very similar. For those of you that have used this software for a while and own both, are there reasons you use kissmyimage over PS? Quality, ease ?

Thanks,

Mike


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2007-02-11
#3

You can "Batch" easily and you can nominate the maximum file size in kb. It is also somewhat cheaper than Photoshop!

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-05-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 348
2007-02-12
#4

@smooth

Thanks for the flowers

@vtcoorinator and all

I can tell you why I had the need for this software.

When I am done stiching my panos I display them in different players and sizes. I have the approach that I think the max time for download is given.

If I display a pano at (lets say) not the best quality it is still better then the client has to wait to long for a good image but leaves tha page before it finally loads.

So I wanted a easy way to reduce my images to max 500 kb for small images and max 1,5 mb for big images.

I was never happy with PS actions and any other software so I wanted something realy simple (KISS)

This was the reason for development. Since I can create profiles and send to for context menu it helps me very much on my daily work.

Once I created the final images TIF and JPG (at max Quality) I just right click the jpg image and send it to kissmyimage which will reduce the size in pixel and set the max size.

Opening Photoshop takes me longer then reducing my images.

I also use it as webpublisher for my clients when they have to reduce images for the CMS of there site. I never would like to show a client of mine PS to reduce images he took with his web cam.

Kiss MyImage is so simple anyone can run it - This is because it does only one thing and one thing only - Reduce JPEG images in size (pixel and kb)

Nothing else - no BMP, no RAW images just one task.

Bottom line is - I use it every time I have to reduce image.

Regards Markus

PS: I also had sometimes a line in the image when I reduced with PS. Not sure I can proove it was because of PS but never had it with Kiss MyImage.

 


Nikon D70s, Sigma 8 mm, 4 to 12 shots, Agnos MrotatorTShort, PTGui, PS CS3, and lots of other software :-)
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-05-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 348
2007-02-12
#5

Funny I was just reading the next thread

http://www.easypano.com/forum/display_topic_threads.asp?ForumID=6&TopicID=2722&PagePosition=1

and saw that they had the same problem as I did.

Regards Markus


Nikon D70s, Sigma 8 mm, 4 to 12 shots, Agnos MrotatorTShort, PTGui, PS CS3, and lots of other software :-)
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-02-01
Send Msg:
Posts: 4
2007-02-12
#6
Hi All!

If you run CS2 and Bridge you can get "Dr.Browns 1-2-3 Jpg converter". Nifty little tool. Lets you batch out of bridge with upto 3 sizes into any folder (automatic sub folders for each size) and quality settings can also be adjusted. He also has some other very usefull and time saving tools.

And its FREE!!!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-12-26
Send Msg:
Posts: 141
2007-02-12
#7
Well, this seems to belong to a new thread after all, but anyway :-)

I know Dr. Browns image processor for CS and it is great, so I guess you can use it a lot to batch resize. Nevertheless I think you cannot do this batch-"optimise at target size" (or whatever it is called in english). Photoshop allows this for a single file and I never found out how to use an action with this. Kissmyimage can do this compressing to a specified target size and this is really great! It's a single thing it can do, but I need it quite often, so it is a big help indeed.

Michael
http://www.premiumpano.de
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-12-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 24
2007-02-13
#8
Thanks Markus, I'll give it a try.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2007-02-09
#9

Chris,

Loading your tour "page" from nothing on my broadband connection took 22 seconds to see the splash and then another 6 seconds to see the first "still" and "skin".

Yes, all the panorama and still images are being downloaded in the background and your tour won't work smoothly until they are all down. This is why optimizing is critical and normally don't recommend going over 10 scenes. If you need more than 10 scenes then link one tour to another tour.

This test was done with Internet Explorer 7.0 and Microsoft JVM.

Also understand that delivery speed could be "your" server and not that of the person's computer connection downloading.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-06-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 154
2007-02-09
#10
Your skin zip file is over 700k...

All things in this folder include:
All skin images - loading images - all hotspots - floor plan - help screen - config text file - thumbnails.

What I noticed that is making your skin file larger is your mouse over images (place your mouse over a hotspot to see the still photo) - All of the are considered hotspots and are adding 350K (half) to your zip file. Your help image is in .jpg format and for its size, you could convert that to .gif format and bring it from 40k to around 5 or 10k.

Also, you skin background gif is a good size, it would be hard to get that any smaller... But, you logo is over 200k... I would recommend reducing the size to a small logo vs taking up the whole screen, and get that size down to about 10k or less, We got our real estate logo down to about 4k, and it is still very obvious that we are the creator of the tour!

Hope this helps... Keep in mind, that if you are going to continue using the mouse over function to display your still photos, that you are going to have a larger skin file.

Something that we do on occasion is for example, in a scene like a master bedroom, we us a hotspot pointing to the master bath to display the master bath still as a scene and then put a hotspot in the master bath still photo that links back to the master bedroom... Not quite as convenient as the mouse over effect, but it works. And, as one of the other forum members stated in another post of yours, why do you need a mouse over to show the front of the house still when you are already looking at it?

If you want your tour to load in less than 10 seconds, then you should get you zip file to around 100-150k - Keep in mind that the .jar file, first scene, and the zip file have to load before anything is displayed... And of course, load time is going to depend on the users computer - Older and slower machines will load java much slower than new ones
Will Best
Virtual Impressions Inc.
Real Estate Virtual Tours and Floor Plans
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-11-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 112
2007-02-09
#11
thank you guys for setting me straight one this. i will take your advice. I guess i really don,t need the picture in picture rollover hot spots (just thought it looked cool) I will try to get the waiting image around 5-10kb or just go back to my old logo.i guess, just get everything as small as possible ,but keep the quality and that should do it.
i have been messing around with this program called advanced jpeg compressor
http://www.winsoftmagic.com/
it supports all formats.do you think this would be a good purchase for me. by the way Thatone ,what is that program you use to do the slide shows.
   Thanx again for the advice
                            Chris