panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-12-26
Send Msg:
Posts: 141
2007-06-06
#1

Unwanted saving TW2

Anyone else confirming this behavior:

When I edit my project and close the project without saving, the file date is changed, i.e. updated anyway. Not really a problem, but unwanted.

When I edit my project and make a preview and close the project without saving (NO warning about that BTW!), the project file IS updated WITH the changed content.

TW 2 is buggy, we all know that. The more important is it to be able to apply the emergency brake and quit without saving.

Yours,
Michael


http://www.premiumpano.de
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-11-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 59
2007-06-15
#2
Yes, I concur - on both counts. Tourweaver 2.0 is a great program - in many respects. But it is buggy. And the "save" function seems not only buggy but also confusing.

Unless I am really confused - which is entirely plausible - there seem to be two different "save" features with distinctly different functions:
1)   File > Save (or pressing the floppy disk icon) and   File > Save As both produce a set of "project folders" containing tour files, encapsulated within a single outer folder plus a single file with a .tw extension. The only difference, as expected, is that "Save As" allows us the option of specifying a filename and directory path. Otherwise, Tourweaver uses its own default naming convention and directory path.
   It seems that using the .tw file is the only way to reopen a tour in Tourweaver. Ergo, if you don't use the File > Save" or File > Save As function, there is apparently no way to reopen a tour in Tourweaver at a later time - even five minutes later - once you've closed the tour, and if you can't reopen the tour, you can't edit it, and if you need to edit it, you'll just have to re-create it! Please correct me if I am mistaken. On the plus side, experimentation reveals that Tourweaver 2.0 automatically saves a .tw file for us, names it "Project___.tw" and places it in Tourweaver's default "Workspace" folder (such as C"\Program Files\Easypano\Tourweaver 2.00 Professional Edition\Workspace). Thank you Easypano! Now all we would have to do is figure out which Project___.tw tour goes with which tour, but that's a whole lot better than having no .tw file.

2) File > Publish > Publish (or clicking the "Publish" icon, then clicking "Publish") produces a couple folders containing compressed scenes with a ".jpe" extension and sounds; two html files, neither of which is useful for editing the tour (again, please correct me if I am mistaken), and a handful of additional files. The tour which used to be editable through a primary html file is now a combination of files including a compressed and encrypted .js file, a compressed images___.ZIP file, and a config___.txt file. I am not proficient at coding (HTML or otherwise) but it appears that the config___.txt file may be equivalent to the prior version's .HTML file, in which case the tour IS editable outside of Tourweaver and without a .tw file. (If you haven't already figured it out, I'm experimenting with the program and testing hypotheses as I write this.)
   CAUTION- the SAVE option under PUBLISH (File > Publish > Save or Publish icon > Save) seems to do NOTHING!
   For a new tour which has not yet been published, this "Save" feature does not create any files or folders (at least none that I have discovered).
   For a previously published tour, this Save feature does not save any changes, edits, or additions made since the the last time you clicked "Publish." Clicking this Save feature does not, as far as I can tell, create or update any files at all. This is not just buggy - unless I am completely mistaken, this is downright dangerous!
Easypano - what's up???

I started this simply to confirm to mstoss that TW2 and its "save" functions" are indeed "buggy." However,after re-reading this, I think I'll post it as a new post AND submit a bug report.
callgary
E-mail Gary
Every moment is a learning experience. What have I learned today? What have I taught today?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-09-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 329
2007-06-15
#3
Hi, I think that when you save publish settings, even without actually publish your tour is usefull if you change for example the default movie, so that when you "preview" your tour the new saved default movie will be shown. If you for example, copy a new movie changing settings in it, you have to set this movie as default in the publish settings to see it in the "preview" mode. That for you have to save the publish settings. Maybe there is another setting that can be saved before puiblishing, just for preview. Regards, Martin
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-11-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 59
2007-06-16
#4
Martin, your explanation makes perfectly good sense. My question is - have you found that clicking File>Publish>Save (or equivalent icon shortcut) actually saves your changes? I am skeptical about this because I am not finding that any changes are being saved and no file date/timestamps are being updated by simply clicking File>Publish>Save. The only time I am actually able to save a change is by clicking File>Save (saves changes to Project___.tw file set) and by clicking File>Publish>Publish (saves changes to the HTML file set). I'll test further.
callgary
E-mail Gary
Every moment is a learning experience. What have I learned today? What have I taught today?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-02-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 114
2007-06-06
#5
It will also save when the program bombs and there goes your work!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-06-06
#6

Hi Kerry... glad to see you have returned to the forum with useful information.


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com