panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-02-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 34
2007-06-15
#1

House floor plan, wehere to get from???

If we want to make a floor plan for a house, where are we suposed to get the floor plan from? Are we supposed to draw the plan ourselves, or aks the owner of the house for a plan? Does anybody use any software for drawing floor plans for houses? Any suggestions is greatly appreciated!

Thanks


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-06-29
#2
hmmm ok.. I will revisit.  The one I started to download was a healthy 53mb.. so I stopped the download.  I already have other CAD software that is duplicating that I really have not had any use for yet.
/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 40
2007-07-02
#3

I was approached a month or so ago by a company that will go out to the houses, measure and provide you with finished PDF with measurements and all. 

The PDF you download within about 2 days via your individual log-in and password.

The company is called MEASURECOMP.  I don't have the contact info in front of me right now for the guy that contacted me, but his name is Stephen.  Their website is http://www.measurecomp.com

Despite their hokey website they do a pretty good job.  The cost is based on the square footage of the house.  Will cost you around $65.00 for a finished floorplan from them. 

They have reps in several different states.  For instance, I'm in Vegas and they're back East.  You do sign a contract with them, but there's no fees or anything weird.  It's mainly just to make sure everyone's clear on how this all goes down.

Enjoy!


EQUIPMENT: NIKON D80 CAMERA, AGNOS MROTATOR TCPS W/ RING, Sigma F/3.5 8mm Fisheye Lens
ITDVDS.COM
"Online Training For I.T. Professionals"
www.itdvds.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2007-06-15
#4

Hi pedy

Most people I know who are doing realtor tours make their own floor plans.

You can use smartdraw or floorplan3d - I know many people use this software.

Best regards

Morten


Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-02-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 34
2007-06-15
#5

Ok, thank you, Morten..

But when they make thei own plans, do they measure all the rooms in the house, or just copy the plan from a bigger, original plan that architects used for that house? Sorry if I'm asking dummy questions!

 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-04-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 221
2007-06-15
#6
Pedy, if you have the opportunity, you can copy the original floor plan. If it still exists that is. If not, you will have to measure every room. Of course you will charge extra for that. To make floor plans, I use AutoCAD, but that is because I am an AutoCAD draughtsman. You could try google sketchup it's free!


is made with sketchup for example. (Not made by me btw)




Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-02-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 34
2007-06-15
#7

Google Sketchup is quite nice and efficient, and I think I'm going to try it. I was just thinking maybe there is a easier method to just get the floor plan of a house, not having to measure all the rooms and such. Some expensive houses are really complicated and I imagine it would take half a day just to prepare a floor plan!

Thanks for your suggestions Vilmer!


Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-04-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 221
2007-06-15
#8
You're welcome Pedy. It can be a lot of work, but on the other hand, it does not neet to be very exact. You don't need it for engineering purposes or something. There are some very nice tools on the marked for quick measuring a room btw. For example, I have this one:


Press the button and in less than 5 seconds, you know the length of a wall.
It measures up to 20 meters, enough for most purposes.


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-11-19
Send Msg:
Posts: 59
2007-06-16
#9
Pedy, unless your client demands engineering precision and is willing to PAY for such, a quick line-drawing sketch is all you need. Forget exactness - unless the job really calls for it - and the fee is commensurate. If you are concerned about possible litigation, add a simple disclaimer - "not exact".   Also, regarding possible litigation (at least in the U.S.) you're better off if you don't include dimensions. If the property owner or real estate agent wants dimensions, ask them to provide you with the dimensions, then add disclaimer - dimensions provided by ---. If you take your own dimensions, again, be quick, not exact, and add disclaimer - not exact.
callgary
E-mail Gary
Every moment is a learning experience. What have I learned today? What have I taught today?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2007-06-25
#10
Thanks for the info on google sketchup . I download the free version and it provides far more that the average person will ever use. Was up and running in about 5 min., thanks to all who provide info. I have learned so much in this forum.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2007-06-26
#11

it says its an 8 hour trial.. then times out or you buy it.  Have not found the price.

Ah there it is... Google SketchUp Pro 6: $495.00
*English Only*

  


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com