panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-03-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 58
2007-09-20
#1

TW 2.0 tour won't run off clients server

Hi, I have a tour I produced with TW 2.00.  I uploaded it to my web server and it runs fine.  When I sent if to my client and he uploaded it to his server, the tour loaded but only the basic part of the tour, not the 360s, map or scene descriptions.  I had this problem with TW1.3 when I encrypted the images but you don't have that choice in 2.00.

Does anyone have a suggestion here?

This is the tour on my web server: www.go360media.com/naterra/voyageurs2

This is the tour on my clients web server: www.naterraland.com/voyageursretreat/voyageurs_vt/index.html

I don't know if TW 3.0 would work better because I have not received my license key as yet.

Thanks, Tom


www.go360media.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-03-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 58
2007-10-02
#2

Here is an update on this mystery.  My client is running Windows 2003/IIS 6.  He wrote to me, "I copied the folder to an IIS 5.0 web server and it worked so its definitely a Windows 2003/IIS 6 issue."

He pulled his link off so there isn't a comparison now.  

I repackaged the tour using TW 3.  There is a update I have not tried so I will be doing that next.  Maybe the way the scene files are named messed things up.

Tom


www.go360media.com
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2007-10-02
#3

Hmm, I did read that there was a Windows "fix" in the latest 3.0 update so fingers crossed.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2007-09-20
#4

Tom,

You log in to your Easypano account and you will find your keys for TW 3.0 and yes you can turn the Encryption off when using Flash.

It is possible that the files were uploaded to your clients server computer and been corrupted or not uploaded the correct way I.E: ASCII vs Binary.

It is also possible that the clients computer needs to have the MIME settings added for the .jpe image format.

It is also possible that not all the files have been uploaded. I have also seen "webmasters" unzip the zip files before uploading. 

Could also be that the swObject.js needs to be renamed without the caPs swobject.js (Flash Tours).

and there is a known issue with encrypted .txt files .tx1 and MIME types.

One or some may be relevant in this case. I just thought I'd list what I can remember.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-03-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 58
2007-09-21
#5

Smooth,

I published this tour in Java.  If I tell my client's webmaster that he needs to have the MIME settings added to the .jpe image format, will he know what this means?  I don't, but I'm not that bright when it comes to html stuff.

If there is a problem encrypted .txt files, what does one do? 

I received my 3.0 key last night but have not used tried it yet.

Thanks, Tom


www.go360media.com
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2007-09-22
#6

Tom,

His server host will know how to add or adjust MIME details.

I'd say 9 out of 10 times it is a corrupted upload because of the way it was uploaded. Or they have failed to upload all of the files in exact format.

This is why sometimes you are better off hosting the files for them and supplying the links. (With or without hosting fees).

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2003-03-06
Send Msg:
Posts: 58
2007-10-02
#7

I updated to TW 3.00.070927, repackaged the tour, zipped it up and uploaded it to my server.  My client downloaded the file, unzipped it and loaded it on his server.  IT WORKS!  Maybe it was the way the jpe files were named.  In the earlier version they are named using the scene name, in the update they are named after the jpg file names.

I remember having trouble using the encryption setting a few years ago in pre 2.0 versions so I quite using that feature because some servers did not recognize this.  Why do you think Easypano is making this a requirement and not allowing us to leave the jpg files without encrypting them? 

Tom


www.go360media.com
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2007-10-03
#8

You must un-check this option so you can use .jpg files.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 21
2007-10-04
#9
How do you get the map to move up and down in the window as the scenes change?.. Is that something that is only available in the Professional version?
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-06-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 23
2007-09-24
#10

Interesting thread, I too am having problems viewing my tours, similar to tdmerch, I FTP my tours just by highlighting and dragging to my server in the USA, I am in the UK, SMOOTH is this the correct way to transfer files to a server? As I do not know what is meant by "ASCII vs Binary." My FTP program is supplied by ihoststudio. I am using TW3, Any ideas or suggestions welcome

Thanks Brian

I have recently, today posted a thread TW3 Java & Flash NOT HAPPY please look at it