panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-11
Send Msg:
Posts: 81
2008-03-24
#1

Taking Tourweaver To It's Limits

I've been experimenting with a new concept and hope the members of this forum can let me know a few things.

After designing a website for a Country Club (www.riverviewcountryclub.com), I got the bright idea to try to do virtual tours of their golf course.  Needless to say, it was one of the worse projects I ever encountered.  It was the end of the season and there were three million divots in the grasses which had to be cloned out.

I broke the tours down into two sections (Front 9 and Back 9).  That still puts 20 tours in one interface!  In addition I added 9 aeriel maps per tours as well as clickable audio hotspots.

This brought the tour size to 26 Megs.  I'm running high speed cable so the tour loads in no problem and continues to load in the background.

I was wondering if anyone could take a peek and see if this works on their internet connection.  The only thing I noticed so far was that the button controls are a little slow to react in the beginning.

Here is the link.....

http://64.23.116.208/golf

Thanks for your input!

 

 



web design • virtual tours • photography • video
www.nastudios.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2004-08-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 107
2008-03-24
#2
No problems at all, just found a little error.

In the footer of the loading page you write that the tour requires flash 8 or higher, but TW-tours requires min. Flash 9.0.28.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-11
Send Msg:
Posts: 81
2008-03-24
#3

Thanks for catching that disjo.  I forgot all about updating that.



web design • virtual tours • photography • video
www.nastudios.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-03-24
#4
Great job Maxxnas, a light bulb just went off in my head.
Where did you get the aerial maps of the greens?
BTW it loaded very fast with IE6 on high speed cable and I loved the intro. How does one go about pricing a project like this? I am going to approach a minor league ballpark about a tour.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-11
Send Msg:
Posts: 81
2008-03-24
#5
Quote: Originally posted by realtor jerry on March-24-2008
Great job Maxxnas, a light bulb just went off in my head.
Where did you get the aerial maps of the greens?
BTW it loaded very fast with IE6 on high speed cable and I loved the intro. How does one go about pricing a project like this? I am going to approach a minor league ballpark about a tour.

Thanks Realtor Jerry!  The aerial maps came directly from the golf course itself.  It was their course guide booklet.  I simply scanned it in at high resolution and cleaned it up a bit.  I imagine however you can get the same results by using Microsoft Virtual Earth or Google Earth.  Just do a screen capture and a little photoshop work and you are there.

The intro was quite easy.  That only took me a few hours to animate in flash.  I had much more difficulty redoing EasyPano's full screen button control in flash (go figure).

Now the pricing part.  This can be rather difficult.  Taking virtual tours of a golf course and an interior home are completely different.  I spent many months cleaning each photo making the course look pristine.  I only posted 1/2 the tour and there is still the back nine which I did as well.  

Most customers will not be getting all 18 holes like my example.  This came to a total of 40 tours and alot of courses will just want their signature holes.  The price will vary based on the customer's needs. 



web design • virtual tours • photography • video
www.nastudios.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2008-03-25
#6
I wanted to see your golf your but got this error:

"Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /golf/ on this server."

I'm using Firefox.

Any ideas to what might be wrong?

Best regards
Morten
Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 772
2008-03-25
#7

Hi there

I'm sure it is great but I got an error message too... (AOL with IE 7 installed)


sales@actualeducation.co.uk
www.actualeducation.co.uk
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-03-25
#8
It is great but when I went back to have another look I got the same message.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-11
Send Msg:
Posts: 81
2008-03-25
#9

Sorry Guys.  My small server was getting hit with too much bandwidth usage after I posted this.   I'll let you know when I post this to my clients website.  Thanks for your interest.



web design • virtual tours • photography • video
www.nastudios.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-02-05
Send Msg:
Posts: 16
2008-03-29
#10
I have high speed, the new window counts down rapidly, ads the symbols in the lower right, window turns black and seems to be looping with no error. Seems like the cpu is looping on somehting with a base busy of about 15%. I have a GB RAM on a Dell
Robin
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-06-28
Send Msg:
Posts: 30
2008-03-30
#11

Hi Maxxnas,

I too tried your link and got "Website declined to show link....?" I'm running with a new custom desktop with XP, all the current Java and Flash upgrades, Intel's 2GB dual core, 32/64 bit processor, 2GB of RAM, 1/2Terabyte of HD, plus I'm using IE7.0., high speed cable (11MB/sec), and I have no idea what to suggest to you, but I'm having problems in other areas that I'll mention in another "New Topic".  Sorry I can't be of more help.