panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-03-28
#1

Photomatix update

Just some info for those who use Photomatix. Photomatix Pro version 3.0 has been released. I downloaded it, it was a free upgrade for me, and really like it. Seems like much better results in the HDR department. Seems to be faster also. Only had a few minutes to play with it but was pleasantly surprised. Here is the link for the Windows version if anyone is interested. http://www.hdrsoft.com/download/win.html
Maybe some of you that are good with it can share some of your tips and tricks.


Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-05-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 569
2008-03-29
#2
Great news. Thanks for sharing.

I am not sure if this helps anyone, but I have something to share about the use of Photomatix.

I normally shoot a lot of bracketed images whereafter I blend them in Photomatix. Sometimes I experience that the windows are still too blown out. I then stitch in PW and save the stitching parameters. Then I stitch a new panorama with the darkest set of images where everything is totally black - except the windows. I then blend the 2 panoramas in Photomatix and this often resolves the problem with the windows.

Regards
Morten
Best regards

Morten Andersen
- a newbie trying to improve
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-02-05
Send Msg:
Posts: 16
2008-03-29
#3
How do you get multiple images at different exposures for a a single exact scene. One example on their website showed a boat moving away yet it remained in the same spot shot after shot.
Robin
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-06-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 154
2008-03-30
#4
Thanks for the info realtor jerry - I use photomatrix every day - I wish they had sent an email out to let us know. I've just started working with this new version and I like it a lot.
Will Best
Virtual Impressions Inc.
Real Estate Virtual Tours and Floor Plans
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-03-31
#5
Robin, the moving boat was a question on their FAQ. They said the boat was moving very slow. As for the mutiple images, my camera will do auto bracket shots I can do either 3 or 5 shot in the matter of about 2 seconds. This will give me the over and under exposure needed. Of course you have to be using a tripod. I also use a remote control so I don't have to touch the camera.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-09-14
Send Msg:
Posts: 329
2008-03-31
#6

Hi, Robin! Another way (moving boat) is to shoot in RAW and create from one image a set of one under, one over and one normal exposed and then process the three images with Photomatix. This is very useful in cases where moving objects are in the shot. That is one of many advantages of shooting in RAW.

Regards, Martin