panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-09-27
#1

Still confused with resizing!

Thanks for all the help and advice in my previous post on this subject.
However as usual I am still confused. I have been having trouble (time wise) uploading my tours recently. I just noticed that after processing, Panoweaver5, Photomatix, Photoshop Elements5 and then to Tourweaver 3 or 4 that the pano's are 5 & 6+ MB each. But I noticed that if before TW I put them back into PW5 to add a tripod cap and then save, the image will remain 4K X 2K but the file size has been reduced to between 1 & 2 MB. The quality seems to be OK.
Is this normal?
Why is the file size being reduced on the second pass through PW5?
Should I be reducing the size even more.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2008-09-28
#2

You need to give us a full run down on your workflow.

Doing what your doing so far doesn't sound optimal at all.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-09-28
#3

I have been shooting in JPG fine with the Nikon D300 & 10.5 lens to reduce processing time. I shoot in brackets of 5, 6 around +T. So this gives me 35 images per scene.
I stitch with PW5 in the "bracket exposure" mode in order to stitch all 5 brackets at the same time. Stitch all scenes in tour.
Take each scene into Photomatix Pro to merge. Save image.
Import all stitched/merged scenes into Photoshop Elements5. Work my magic, remove tripod on some but not all images. Save all images back to my folder.
Take the images that I did not remove the tripod back into PW5 to add cap. Save back to folder.
The issue is that the images I did not take back into PW5 remain at 4Kx2K at 5 to 6+MB. The images I did take back into PW5 (for the cap) remain at 4Kx2K but have been reduced to 1 to 2 MB each.
As you can imagine at 5 to 6+ MB each this makes my tour huge.
I guess the question is, how to keep my images at 4Kx2K with a manageable file size but retain as much quality as possible?
I have viewed a lot of tours that look great and load fast, how so?
I know a lot of you shoot in RAW (and I do sometimes) but time wise that just is not feasible at the rates I get around here.

Any and all help is appreciated........


Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-08-13
Send Msg:
Posts: 193
2008-09-28
#4
Any chance that you are adding a layer in PE5? I don't have Elements to see how you would check.
Vince
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-09-28
#5
You may be correct. When I cube in PS E5 with the plug-in to fix the ceiling and floor I have to have a layer and then merge visible when finished. Could that be the reason my image is 5 to 6+ MB?
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-09-28
#6

I just did a quick test. I merged 5 pano's averaging 2MB each and the finished pano was 5.72 MB. I took this into PS E5 and did 3 save as.
1. quality 3 was 664 KB.
2. quality 6 was 1.24 MB
3. quality 12 (highest) was 5.73 MB the same as the finished pano out of Photomatix. All images remained 4Kx2K.
I understand that PS is not the best way to reduce file size, so where do I go from here.
I looked at the 2 suggestions from Smooth in my other post on this subject but from what I could gather reducing the images would actually reduce the size of the image. I could be wrong but I don't think this is what I need to do....


Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-02-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 88
2008-09-29
#7

Did you try comparing the same image sizes once you have passed them through File > "Save for Web" rather than using "Save As"? This strips away some of the metadata and reduces overall file size (maybe this was mentioned earlier..).


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-09-29
#8
Thanks Bruxist, I have tried "save for web" before but I get a pop-up that says save for web was not designed for large images. So it will not let me save that way.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2008-10-01
#9

Any more suggestions on this subject??


Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-03-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 67
2008-10-01
#10

Jerry,

Do you need a final pano that is 4000 x 2000?  This seems large to me for  real estate work.  Also, in PS CS2 I get the same warning when using the save for web feature if the file is large.  You can hit save anyway and it saves the file.  Do not have Elements so not sure if you can override but worth a go.

Good Luck,
TTurner


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2008-10-01
#11
In Photoshop CS3,  Using Save for Web and Devices,  I can take a 4000 x 2000  8bit image from 22mb [by pass the PS warning] and achieve a very high quality 1.3mb jpeg  suitable for framing on the wall, OR converting to a single file .swf  suitable for posting on the internet web page.
/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com