panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2008-12-05
#12

Well that answers that question, Thanks Joe.

I have never tried to open a Tourweaver 1.3 .vtp project file in Tourweaver 4.0 and only now understand that Tourweaver 4.0 had the option to save as a .vtp so you could open it in TW1.3. (Don't understand really why this exists? and Joe mentions it will now be removed in the next build).

I only ever loaded .tw project files and only ever saved as .tw projects with Tourweaver 4.0

So hopefully this is your issue Pixel and you will have a happier day once you implement this process.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2008-12-05
#13
First I would like to echo what Joe has stated. Thank you Smooth and Dave for all the help that each of you provide here.

Joe, thank you for joining in and letting an Easypano representative be seen and heard in this thread it is greatly appreciated. I did submit a ticket and have heard nothing from it, something Easypano may need to work on in the upcoming new year. What I mean by this is that it you can get a response from the forum here much faster than getting the first reply from a ticket.

With that said it is not my intention to bash on Easypano. The original post will show frustration on my end. It is only frustration! I have been happy (for the most part) with Easypano products with ease of use. As Smooth has mentioned it requires little to no coding, therefore the increase of cost. So now that my blood pressure has dropped a bit, let's see if we can figure out what went terrible wrong for me.

Here is a snap shot of how things look in TW4 on my pc...


First things first.
Smooth, is there anything wrong with my file structure? My project file is located in the main folder but the publish files are in separate folders.

Second.
Joe, as to my tour in this thread. Yes it works fine (almost) I use Firefox and when I got to another pc and viewed it in Internet Explorer I noticed that I was able to expand the viewer window to full screen. I did not want this and went to make the change in my project file. I opened the project file and that is when I noticed my scene images were not viewing. Along with transition effect. I selected fade in fade out and saved it that way.


This and the other tours were made in TW4 not TW1.3. I made this tour by downloading the "Mansion" tour components and built my tour around this. Adding things I wanted and deleting those I did not want. Bottom line is the tour was made using the latest TW 4.00.081127.

You have stated that .vtp is a file format for TW1.3. Why even make it an option in TW4? That makes no sense at all to me? I have files using the default save method...choosing the save image and not file save as that have come out like xxx.vtp.tw. So do I have a corrupt version of TW4? Why am I getting the option to save as .vtp?

Again this tour was built using TW4, I did not use files or open an existing project that was made using TW1.3 in TW4.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2008-12-05
#14

Quote: Originally posted by pixelator on December-05-2008


First things first.
Smooth, is there anything wrong with my file structure? My project file is located in the main folder but the publish files are in separate folders.

Pixel,

To me it looks like a problem! as you are pointing to the .vtp files as being "Project Files" which they are only "part of" the project file set.(putting aside that these should be .tw not .vtp files) Each project file set includes a tourname.tw and tourname (folder) "full of contents"

The issue is you have two major components to a "Project File" this is the tourname.tw and tourname (folder) "full of contents".

Your "Publish Files" (which you really should place in a completely different directory) I feel you are publishing to the exact same directory and the publish tourname folder ends up overwriting the project tourname folder. Meaning you don't have a complete "project" set to re-open in Tourweaver.

What I'm trying to get across is that if you have a folder for the project named tourname (folder) along with the tourname.tw file you have a complete set of Project files for that tour.

If you publish this tour the exact same folder the "Publish" tourname folder that is created overwrites the project tourname folder (thus killing one (1) very important half of the Project set)

Hope this makes sense.

Bottom line - DON'T publish to the same directory as the project files and DON'T save as .vtp ONLY .tw

Regards, Smooth

 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2008-12-05
#15

Smooth,

I was pointing to the .vtp to point out that if it is a file that was used in TW 1.3 why in the world is it in TW4?

As stated when simply choosing save I get a file that looks like;
tourname.vtp.tw  This I am guesing is way off, as it should be either tourname.vtp or tourname.tw

I'll move my published folders elsewhere.  I am having a hard time believing that ALL my problems are how my folders and files are setup.

Thanks for the help though.


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2008-12-05
#16
Received word from EasyP today on my ticket...resolved!

I was thinking woo-hoo my problems are going to be fixed. Wrong! Word is that if you select to encrypt your images you can't use them again.

First, I did not check the box for image encryption...Actually the only box that was checked was the display scene name under right click menu.

Second, if that is really the case for image encryption why in the world would anyone select it, knowing you could not open your project to make changes...come on! I was born at night but not last night.

This is the very thing that aggravates me about EasyP...I spent the $ please show some support instead of insulting my intelligence.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2008-12-05
#17
HELP!
I tried to move my project file. By opening it and then selecting save as .tw into the new location (no where near the published files) and it opens in TW4 and shows no images.

The file I opened was name-of-tour.vtp.tw

Also I tried moving all the folders and files into the new folder that was spit out with the .tw and did not make any difference. Why am I getting a folder with 7 folders in it just for saving a .tw project file anyway?

Blood pressure on the rise again...errr

I'm truly at a loss


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-21
Send Msg:
Posts: 501
2008-12-06
#18
Folks let me just say this...
If you ever encounter a problem with this software or simply want to know how to do something with it, CONTACT SMOOTH immediately.

I started from scratch using my skin, added my scenes, set my settings and selected save as .tw to a folder on my C drive.
Selected publish to a folder that was located in my documents and wouldn't you know it...Smooth to the rescue.
Seems file structure and where you put things are VERY IMPORTANT when using TW4.

THANK YOU SMOOTH!

I have lots of work to do today as I have to redo 7 tours housing on average 14 scenes.

Would like the answer to one last question if I could...
How can I select it to publish to only one folder?
The output it gave me is like...
my-website.com/folder-name/folder-name/name-of-tour.html

I would like to have it...
my-website.com/folder-name/name-of-tour.html

Man, I can't thank you enough Smooth.

As for EasyP...
You all really need to work on your customer support. You make an amazing product but are failing miserably in the support department.
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2008-12-06
#19

Pixel,

Mate, thanks for the thanks!

Really though, Easypano set the program up so that it would output to one (Publish) folder and one (Project) folder as default. These are the Output and Workspace folders within the Easypano install directory.

But as you can see people can get confused and waver from this structure as Pixel did. 

You would upload your published tour from the Output folder to the Internet or CD/DVD etc.

What you choose to upload and how is totally up to you. What is required is that you do not break the file structure. So long as this is kept intact then there should be no problems. (remembering only to use naming of English letters and numerals a-z 0_9) It is also a good practice not to use CAPS or leave spaces between words. Instead it should be running letters or numerals.

Example:

  • Dining Room.JPG is bad
  • dining_room.jpg is good
  • Bedroom (1).JPG is bad
  • bedroom-1.jpg is good

Now I know it is good to type with CAPITALS in the right places because it is the Queens English. But when it comes to computers and servers etc is not the place for CAPS and Punctuation.

Should you want to display correct Queens English within the tour that is fine you simple change the names within the Tourweaver program in the Properties & Actions tab area. This doesn't change the name of the actual files - just the displayed names and titles within the tour.

So what to upload?

Upload the "contents" of the published tour. NOT the folder it is published into.

This will be:

  • tourname.html
  • Tourweaver_tourname.html
  • twviewer.swf
  • swfobjects.js
  • tourname (sub folder full of content)

this would make your tour address in the Internet:

http://yourwebsite.com/tourname.html (for the Pop-Up launch page to open a sized tour)

or

http://yourwebsite.com/Tourweaver_tourname.html (for the direct tour page)

Should you not want the Pop-Up page and only want people to view the full page simply don't bother to upload the tourname.html file.

It is highly unlikely you would want your tours uploaded without them having their own named directory. So you should make a folder that you want your tour known as. I.E: "beach" so you simply make a folder and call it beach, place all the output tour contents into the folder and upload.

It will then look like this on yo


Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-06-12
Send Msg:
Posts: 2239
2008-12-06
#20

Sometimes it really is necessary to write this much detail.  It helps when new folks try to do a "forum search".   Also it helps when someone asks the question.. and we can just point to the comment.

Thanks Smooth


/s/
Dave
Forum Moderator for
EasyPano - Panoweaver
Pano2VR


Visit 360texas.com