panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-05-22
#12

We are talking QTVR here. Not a normal Quicktime movie.

Different things!

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2009-05-22
#13
OK, didn't know that. I don't think I'll miss QTVR, not sure if I ever use it!
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-06-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 154
2009-05-07
#14
Jerry,

I bought a system with the same AMD Phenom processor thinking that it would out perform the Athlon 64 x2 processor... Not the case. Same amount of RAM and hard disk speed and heavy processes like opening huge tif files in photoshop and stitching large panoramas, slower with the AMD Phenom... I would suggest that you look into an Intel processor as they seem to be out performing anything AMD these days - This is hard for me to say because I've always been a fan of AMD products... You will spend more on an Intel machine, but it's worth it.
Will Best
Virtual Impressions Inc.
Real Estate Virtual Tours and Floor Plans
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-05-08
#15

I say wait awhile longer.

I have an Intel Q6700 Quad Core 2.67GHz running 4GB ram 2x 10,000RPM Raptor hard drives and I must say I've never really been happy with it. 32 Bit.

Be warned 64 Bit PC's will not run Quicktime (if that is important to you!) There is a work around but regular customers will never follow this pattern. Apple needs to pull it's finger out.

My old AMD 64 Athlon is only slightly slower.

Better must be on the horizon you would think.

Regards, Smooth 


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2009-05-08
#16
Thanks for all the info, now I'm really confused. What to do What to do.
I need a new computer desperately, My laptop is very slow with all I'm trying to do on it.
Anyone have any suggestions for a NOW purchase? I am stuck on HP and Windows. Help me spend my money!
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-05-08
#17

HP and Compaq are the same company so don't discount Compaq products.

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-06-27
Send Msg:
Posts: 18
2009-05-10
#18

Try a Systemax @ www.tigerdirect.com . Thats what I use and works excellent although my Tour work is probably not as involved as yours.

 

 


TourRook
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-03-15
Send Msg:
Posts: 11
2009-05-13
#19
Hi Jerry
Mac Pro is the way if you can afford it.
The new iMac with 8GB ram is powerful too.
Ones you get used to it You'll never look back to windows.
I had windows os for many years. I switched to mac 3 years ago (Mac Book Pro 4GB).
I love it. It is fast, easy to use and there is no virus issues. You can run windows on it.
I use the built in Boot Camp to run windows. I need it for TW. Easypano says they will release the mac version of tw4 in this fall.
No more switching between mac and windows!


tking
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2009-05-15
#20
Thanks for all the help and advice. I purchase the HP with the Intel processor Quad core and 8GB ram. Everything seems to be going fine except PW5 is acting funny. Sometimes it is real fast and then it's slow. Hope to work that out. Love the dual 23" monitors.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2009-05-16
#21

Congrats on your purchase Jerry.

I will be interested to see how you get on with the 64 bit opperating system.

Regards, Smooth