panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-12-26
Send Msg:
Posts: 141
2010-01-14
#1

TW5 Demo is destroying TW4 projects

Just found that TW5 (demo) has destroyed a TW4 project. I wanted to check if TW5 is able to handle hotspot images in normal/fullscreen correctly. I did not save the project, I only used the preview function and closed TW5 afterwards.

On the next start-up of TW4 (NOT of TW5) a strange warning apeared about opening the project with the latest TW version would make it impossible to open with earlier versions. How can this be? What about a warning like this when opening a TW4 project with TW5? That's probably how it was meant to be.

It's so frustrating with these things.

BTW I have never received an answer to my help ticket regarding that hotspot issue. So don't tell me, I shall use the ticket system.

Michael


http://www.premiumpano.de
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-01-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 200
2010-01-14
#2

Michael, sorry that happened to you.  I always save a finished project under another name for testing, in that way I've always got the original safe in my TW 4 Folder.

About the hotspot.  I found a box called "Zoom in scale with FOV" and there is a box you need to check there.  When I did that, I didn't seem to have a problem.  Not sure if that would help your situation, but you might want to check it.

Rob


Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-12-26
Send Msg:
Posts: 141
2010-01-15
#3
Quote: Originally posted by Rob63 on January-14-2010

Michael, sorry that happened to you. I always save a finished project under another name for testing, in that way I've always got the original safe in my TW 4 Folder.

About the hotspot. I found a box called "Zoom in scale with FOV" and there is a box you need to check there. WhenI did that, I didn't seem to have a problem. Not sure if that would help your situation, but you might want to check it.

Rob




Well, I do nearly always the same. Nearly, and yes, I did have a somewhat older backup. What is a project file for, if not for storing the media and their dependency. What is a preview for, if not having a non-destructive look at the changes you make at your project? Opening a project and closing it should leave the project untouched. Opening a project and creating a preview should leave the project untouched. This is basic software principles. Well, after all it is not worth complaining, it is what it is.

The hotspot issue seems not to be depending on this checkbox. The difference is like in this screenshot: both hotspot images are the same file dimensions, but one is scaled when zooming in, the other one not.


http://www.premiumpano.de
Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-07-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 9
2010-01-17
#4
I totally agree with the preview and saving issue. when you click preview, it should NOT save over your existing project.

If it needs to save a copy to do a temporary publish to preview it, it should save it to a temporary folder.

There have been times I have made a bunch of changes, and previewed, and didnt like the changes, so closed the project without saving thinking I still had the old copy. When I re opened the project, I discovered unhapilly that TW had saved my project without warning me