panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 772
2010-07-09
#1

TW5 Pro swf in popup causing problems

Hi all,
I'm afraid I can't post the tour online yet but I'm having huge problems incorporating SWF files as 'video' pop-ups in TW5.  These SWF video clips either don't work, freeze, or work and then freeze when you click on the cross to stop looking at the pop-up.  When you then try to work the tour any movements you make with the mouse and left click don't rotate as smoothly as before you opened the swf popup.  There's clearly something going on.  I've tried this as a preview and as a published html file.

OK - done further checks - tried a tour I re-made in TW5 which has swf vid clips made the same way.  It works fine.

Re-tried the tour I am having problems with and put in one of the swf vid clips from the tour I know works.  This worked ok when the scene with the older swf was viewed.  Then I tried a new scene with a new swf.  Swf vid clip worked fine but when I close it I then get the weird mouse problem again.

Aaarg - am going mad here!
Any ideas would be much appreciated!


sales@actualeducation.co.uk
www.actualeducation.co.uk
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 772
2010-07-17
#2
 
Hi there,
I've solved the problem!  I was converting video using AVS Video Converter 6.  I don't need sound on the videos so if I turned down the audio quality settings then, for some reason, the swf files dont cause any problems.
Thanks for your help
Robert

sales@actualeducation.co.uk
www.actualeducation.co.uk
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2010-07-18
#3

Flash seems to cope with MP3 codecs 44.1 kHz and a bit rate of 128 kbps or 192 kbps. Outside of this you will run into problems that can be hard to diagnose.

Regards, Smooth[8D]


Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 772
2010-07-18
#4

Aaah - that's worth knowing.  I may have sounds on other video clips soon so thanks for that.  I hadn't realised that the audio settings I had originally let stay on the default (high quality) setting because the clips had all been muted anyway.

Cheers as ever,

Forrest


sales@actualeducation.co.uk
www.actualeducation.co.uk
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-11
Send Msg:
Posts: 81
2010-07-18
#5
Please also keep in mind that both a virtual tour and video are processor intensive. I would never recommend playing a video while trying to rotate a tour. This can be demanding on any computer processor.

Some little tricks I do...When adding a pop-up swf slideshow...
In this particular case, I completely cover my main window with the pop-up, I pause/stop the auto-rotation of the tour.

By pausing the tour I free up valuable system resources. My slideshow runs perfectly without delay. After exiting the slideshow, I have the tour resume where it left off.

While I haven't incorporated video into a virtual tour project yet, the principals still remain the same. This would allow high quality video and audio without any problems.





web design • virtual tours • photography • video
www.nastudios.com
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 772
2010-07-19
#6

Good points.

My tours are designed not to run through the 'net but on a CD-ROM.  I never use auto-rotate on my scenes and the video clips tend to be around 1mb average.  Because the video clips arent' stretched to cover the whole pano image - just 320 x 240.

Ta

Forrest


sales@actualeducation.co.uk
www.actualeducation.co.uk
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-07-07
Send Msg:
Posts: 772
2010-07-09
#7
Have tried to lower the file size of the swfs - to around 1.2mb but still no joy.  They either show and then it causes problems when you try to come out of them or they show, freeze, and the only thing you can do is to close the tour.
sales@actualeducation.co.uk
www.actualeducation.co.uk