panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2011-11-28
#1

iPhone 4S not working

Tourweaver 6.5 not working with iPhone 4S. It does work with iPhone and iPads about 6 months ago when I tested. I got the new iPhone 4S this weekend and was shocked to see it does not work. The tour does load but you can't navigate with your finger. It does not zoom in or out with your finger either. I pressed the play button and in a few minutes it started playing. I was then only able to navigate with my finger in a counter clockwise direction and that was very choppy. This was on cable wifi in my house so network speed was at best.

Is there a patch for this. I am concerned because I have been redoing them for customers so they work on iPhones. I have been redoing hundreds of them. It would be a huge liability for me if I did all this work redoing them only to have it not work on new iPhones. I hope there is a fix without having to rebuild the tours.


Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-11-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 315
2011-11-28
#2
Make sure you have the latest version of TW 6.5. This was an issue but was fixed in the latest vers
See this thread
Ipad Tours not spinning (older version of TW 6.5)

My TW is ver 6.5.111110
Lee Scott - Nikon D3/D300/D5000 - |shaved Nikkor 10.5 mm| Manfrotto 055XPROB tripod /322RC2 Grip - Mrotator TCS |CS5 | PW7 & TW6.5 Pro
----
To err is human ... to not try is just plain lazy
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2011-11-29
#3
I read the post and it said to recompile. I have hundreds now to recompile at 10 to 15 minutes a pop. I am not accepting apple moving the goal the post as the reason. Goal post are always moving in the software world. The tours should be split into dynamic modules and static. The dynamic has your images and static does the core work of the tour. This way when someone like me has hundreds of tours I don't have to spend hundreds of hours rebuilding each one. This happened with Flash and the older TourWeaver also. We only had to replace a static file and not rebuild all the tours we have been doing in the past years. There needs to be a simple static file fix for this also.
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-11-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 315
2011-11-29
#4

Randall

Understandebly so, but the issue was caused by an iOS (Apple) change/update and not Tourweaver, but that's the caveat with technology. Microsoft is one of the biggest culprits in this arena (to itself!!!).

But that's no help to you... do you run your tours off your server or the users site?

Also have you checked the tours to see if they run on "Safari" on the PC? this was another indicator on the tour not loading (taking) iDevices out of the mix and pointing directly to Apple not TW (independent of the version compiled under)

 


Lee Scott - Nikon D3/D300/D5000 - |shaved Nikkor 10.5 mm| Manfrotto 055XPROB tripod /322RC2 Grip - Mrotator TCS |CS5 | PW7 & TW6.5 Pro
----
To err is human ... to not try is just plain lazy
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2011-11-29
#5

Works great in safari, I just downloaded it on my pc. Works in FF and IE also. So this is an iDevice issue. The TourWeaver code architecture needs the make the dynamic part of the tour as agnostic to the core code as possible. This is basic 101 for all application development. Yes, Apple, Adobe, Macromedia have all changed the goal post over the years. What is going to happen in a year from now when this happens again, are we all supose to spend thousands of hours rebuilding all our tours we have done over the years. I just redid a bunch of condo complexes from years ago so they would be up to date and work on iDevices. That is what the customers want, there old tours updates. Now I have to go back and do it again costing me thousands in labor.

Just to give you an example of proper design and architecture in the world of application development. When Microsoft updates MS Word we all don't have to go retype all our word documents we have typed over the years.


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-20
Send Msg:
Posts: 64
2011-12-01
#6

Get the latest tourweaver 6.5.x.

Publish any tour in HTML5.

Look in the published folder with windows explorer.

Look for the file tw-min.js in the Javascript folder.

Replace the tw-min.js file in your current tours with the new one.

Note: Your iPhone will cache the old js file for a day or more. To test out try it in another website folder. Or google up ways to delete cache in safari for iPhone. Changing any part of the url path will force the browser to not use cache.

Good thing they seperated there core app from the dynamic content. You don't have to rebuild each tour.


Alternate Text
Joined: 2011-10-09
Send Msg:
Posts: 235
2011-12-01
#7

Thanks Randaltomes,

It is a great methods to solve the previous HTML5 failed tours .

We suggest all frends download Tourweaver6.5 and updated to the latest version .The current latest version is 6.50.111121.

Please download it here:http://www.easypano.com/download-tw600.html


www.easypano.com
Cheer@easypano.com