panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2012-01-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 35
2012-02-21
#1

Google Map API's

According to Google, new keys are no longer available. What are we suppose to place into the API section for the maps to work? This is one feature I do not want to lose.

http://code.google.com/apis/maps/signup.html see the note at the bottom of their page.


mmetzing
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-02-21
#2
Well, that's really sad...
Not sure EP can do anything about it.
My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3
Alternate Text
Joined: 2012-01-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 35
2012-02-21
#3

I found this today: http://groups.google.com/group/google-maps-api-for-flash/browse_thread/thread/796884dc4695cacc?pli=1

It seems it WONT be available any more. This sucks because I just purchased this software and was getting ready to launch it here.

Will EP be recoding for use with other map api's such as bing or mapquest?


mmetzing
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2012-02-22
#4

Let's all hope Easypano finds a solution one way or another.

I'm sure people have clients that now rely on this feature.

I'm also guessing this is why the YouTube video insert feature fails also now that Google have re-coded.

Did you also notice Google now wants payment if you exceed a certain number of hits? Google are turning into another Apple!

Regards, Smooth [8D]


Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2012-02-22
#5
Quote: Originally posted by mmetzing on February-21-2012

http://code.google.com/apis/maps/signup.html see the note at the bottom of their page.


I do note that they say NEW keys for Flash. My key is still working for my own website. But as soon as I have client who doesn't have a Flash API key for their domain - we are stuffed!

Regards, Smooth [8D]


Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-02-22
#6
Not only for new customers. Let's suppose your old customer who purchased your product wants to change domain or he wants to put it in additional places. And... we are screwed.

Best wishes,
Madmux
My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3
Alternate Text
Forum Moderator
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5438
2012-02-22
#7

Yup, that is true. Luckily I host just about all my tours.

It's a pity Easypano's www.city8.com doesn't cover the whole world. Because then they would have an in house solution.

Regards, Smooth [8D]


Alternate Text
Joined: 2012-01-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 35
2012-02-22
#8
Why doesnt Easypano comment here? At least let us know if there is a plan.....
mmetzing
Alternate Text
Joined: 2012-01-17
Send Msg:
Posts: 21
2012-02-27
#9

Wow... so glad I got an api for our program before this change.

Unfortunately, I fear this move by google has to do with the demise of flash in general. I think we'll be seeing companies migrating to more streamline options and discontinuing flash support... I don't know the ins and outs of the programming world but It might be time for EP to look at Google Maps JavaScript API v3. And in v3 there is certainly a host of features that would benefit the virtual tour world, like building overlays, interior street views etc.


Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-02-27
#10
I think, EP already has implemented Google Maps JavaScript API v3 (for html5/safari) - that's why i say, that it would be not too sophisticated for them to make html5/flash mashup export type with all the v3 functionality.
Btw, i would not rush EP to switch to HTML5 and develop their own panorama viewer. You know, HTML5 use a sh*tty programming language - javascript. That's why google doesn't code its tools (like gmail and other) in javascript - google codes it in pure java and then use converters to convert java code into javascript. I'm sure Adobe has agreements with google and Adobe will provide export of the project to HTML5.

My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-02-26
#11
One idea just came into my mind - how EP (and we) could relatively easy come away with this.
The idea is to publish google maps part as HTML and use overlay (over flash part) to display map. To communicate between map objects (hotspots etc...) EP can use their own API.
In short - it is doable and should be no problem.

Best wishes,
Madmux
My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3