panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-02-28
#12
Hello guys!

Yesturday evening i had to do other things and didn't make video tutorial, but for those who are anxious to try here are the instructions:
1) Download plugin from here: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/10
2) Goto your TW installation directory and Thumbnail_flash subdirectory, backup Thumbnail.swf file (if there is one).
3) Copy/overwrite the downloaded plugin.
4) Open your project and put Flash thumbnail component from TW component palette anywhere in the main scene. This component is invisible, so - location doesn't matter.
5) Select the component you just droped and use gadget (in the properties) to see if all scenes are checked (better - uncheck and check all of them once again since some TW version hadbug here).
6) Make your auto scene popups and each that popup name as: scene_name+"_intro", for example "myscene1_intro", "balkony_intro" and so on.

Some notes:
* This plugin is ultra-tiny (just 850 Bytes) and is called just on scene change therefore it will not affect the tour performance;
* Plugin pretends to be flash thumbnail, so with this version you won't be able to use the real flash thumbnail component, but you can use normal thumbnail component instead. As i understood it is used more frequently because of better customization capabilities.
* If you are stuck - ask me ;)

Best wishes,
Madnux

My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-11-08
Send Msg:
Posts: 109
2012-02-28
#13


Works really well!

Madmux, you are amazing, i mean,,,this is magic, it just dropped in out of thin air, first there was nothing, then it came....the popup!

ps, tried to register on your site, for that bottle of wine, but it did not work/
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-06-26
Send Msg:
Posts: 218
2012-02-28
#14

Hey Madmux

I would just like to chip in and say thank you for making the plugin. This is very useful.

Thanks,
Willie


Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-02-29
#15
Thanks! Nice to hear good words :) I'm glad it worked without problems!
BTW, with TW - it can be done a lot of things, almost everything is possible. If you have some good idea or you have some problems with "specific" client requirements - let me know ;-)
Regarding wine - at the moment there is a mess. I will clean it up at some moment make most of plugins free (donationware) and let you know.

Best wishes,
Madmux
My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-15
Send Msg:
Posts: 57
2012-03-01
#16
Hi MAdmux

What about my problem no 2 about FOV - can that be fixed?

Is it possible to make aoto-movements like in this tour:

http://www.wideeyes.dk/tours/tucan-club/index.html

I don't expect miracles but I only ask because you say that almost anything is possible :)

regards
Morten
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-03-01
#17
Hi WideEyes,

Yes, of course it can be done.
Regarding your problem with 120 FOV limitation, i think workaround is possible, but it is not worth the effort as usually you don't want your FOV above 120, because this will result in performance issues (i think - that is why there is that restriction in editor). The bigger is FOV, the more triangles of the sphere are shown, the more computational power it requires.
Regarding auto-movements - i think it is a great idea! And automovements can be even better than in your shown example. For eash scene (you need automovement upon entering) you can create movie track and name it something like "scene1_entry", "scene2_entry" and so on. After switching the scene my plugin (i'll need to create one) also will call the specific movie track. It will work just like with auto-popups.

Best wishes,
Madmux
My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-15
Send Msg:
Posts: 57
2012-03-02
#18
Hi Madmux

That sounds great.

Yes I know the feature could be used better, but I also need to consider the time spent making these auto movements....

A plugin to help would be awsome :)

Can you tell me the workaround for FOV above 120? I know it is not optimal, but in some scenes it is necessary.

Regards
Morten
p.s. please let me know when your plug ins are ready as donationware - I will definately donate a good bottle of wine :))

Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-03-03
#19
Ok, i'll try to see what i can do about 120 problem. It's a wierd thing.
The easiest way would be to change configuration file, but i think it is zipped and encrypted. Lol :-)
Another way - is to switch scene or zoom out programatically using API as it has destination scene FOV, but it is needed to experiment on that to if viewer doesn't guard FOV value.

Best wishes,
Madmux

My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3
Alternate Text
Joined: 2010-08-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 246
2012-03-05
#20
Well, reagarding 120 problem, i found that easiest way is to hack a bit your project file. The workflow is:
1) Finish your tour, we should make changes after everything is done to minimize amount of work.
2) Backup your project file (so we can always have a good version)
3) Open project and the scene you need to be above 120. Write some value into initial fov field (Fov init. or something), for example, assign initial FOV 113. Do it with other scenes.
4) Open the project file (with .tw extension) with text editor (like notepad++). Search for the value you assigned (113 in our case). If the value is located between FOVINIT tags - replace it with your desired value.
5) If you use transitions and link scenes with hotspots, do the same thing, just know, that destination scene fov is provided in "Link to scene" dialog box and the value is located between DESTFOV tags.
6) Save project file with text editor and close it. Open that project with TW and publish it without making changes or exploring project (opening scenes, link to scene dialogs will reset values above 120).

Well, that maybe sounds a bit complicated, but it really isn't. And this solution is not for long term. Just for the case you desperately need the feature for one or another project.

Best wishes,
Madmux
My Tourweaver components: http://www.optitecha.lt/categories/3
Alternate Text
Joined: 2005-04-15
Send Msg:
Posts: 57
2012-03-06
#21
Hi Madmux

How cool of you to find this fix. THANK YOU very much :)

No it is not a good solution - the best solution was if EP removed this restriction. Heck - I would gladly upgrade to TW7 for this feature :)

regards
Morten