Go Shopping Cart Site Map User Panel and Admin English Home

Home > Easypano Forum    Easypano Forum has been upgraded.

Easypano Forum

Welcome Guest Register Login Search The Forum Display List of Forum Members
 All Forums
  Panoweaver

Subject Topic: Nikon FC-E9 vs sigma and Panoweaver 4.0 Post Reply Post New Topic
Message posted by Gen. Lee on May-15-2005 at 3:49pm
View Gen. Lee's Profile Profile   Search for other posts by Gen. Lee Search   Quote Gen. Lee Quote   Send Private Message Send Msg  
Gen. Lee
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

May-15-2005
372 Posts

Hello,
I have been producing full 360x360 images for the past 7 years using a Nikin coolpix 950 + FC-E8

I purchased a new setup: Nikon D70s + FC-E9 + agnos MrotatorB to replace my old coolpix setup. I am also purchasing a Nikon 10.5mm + MrotatorTCPshort to take full frame fisheye pano's. My clients are asking for better quality in the images so I want to offer both spherical 360x360 and cylinder/cubic panos.

The question is:
Can I use the sigma 8mm lens + nikon D70s to produce 2 shot 360x360 in the same way I used the coolpix set up. I have been using panoweaver 2.01 for stitching.

I want to upgrade to PW 4.0 but I am confused about the sigma 8mm vs the FC-E9.

The agnos MrotatorB + bracket is very bulky and heavy plus it mates to the 18-70mm nikon lens via a foam adapter and I have to use the stock lens to adapt it and that equals less image quality as has been stated before. This set up will do the job but is very bulky. I am considering returing this setup in favor of a sigma 8mm+agnos MrotatorTAP.

I would rather use the sigma 8mm attatched directly to the camera + agnos MrotatorTAP for 2 shot 360x360 shots.